Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I needed a glaze that didn't call for confectioner's sugar as I had run out. I used this to top a pineapple cake and it was awesome! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is pretty good. But like others I doubled the cinnamon after tasting the batter and realizing there wasn't enough. Other than that, and baking for 70 minutes at 325 (too many people suggesting that to ignore) I made this exactly as written. This needs more spice for my taste. Next time I will add allspice and cloves, like in my mother's apple cupcake recipe. The glaze is nice, but next time I will try a thicker caramel frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was SOOOOO yummy! I used Splenda instead of sugar, the Splenda browqn sugar blend instead of brown sugar and added 2 extra apples. AWESOME, moist and sooooo tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This was a great recipe. The only thing I did different was melted caramel candy apple wraps over the top as the glaze just didn't have the look I wanted and I cooked it for 45 minutes as any longer and it would have burned. I took this to a cookout and it was a huge hit! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: New Vineyard, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I had baked my own cake and really wanted a caramel/nut topping. I used this topping and put pecans on top. The sauce is excellent!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
i hate when people change everything and then review the recipe poorly BUT i have made this many times (exact instructions first then made changes). this cake rocks. the glaze is delish. i find light brown sugar tastes way better in it than dark. i also baked it at 325 for 70 min. i used half white and half brown sugar and sub'd apple sauce in for 1/3 the amount of oil. (1/2 cup ap. sauce, 1 cup oil) i also increased cinnamon to 1 teaspoon. that's my fave way. made it for my aunt's bday. she hates sweets and had a second piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia Fields, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was very good but just a little dry. Baked it at 325 for 70 minutes as recommended by other reviewers. I think I like other apple cakes better. The caramel sauce was great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is a great bundt cake! So moist and delicious! I served the sauce on each piece as rec--warmed up the sauce and served w/ vanilla ice cream. I made a few slight changes based on comments: I used 1 t. cinnamon and dash of nutmeg. Cut oil a bit to 1 and 1/4 cups. I used 2 large Granny Smiths apples and used pecans, as I didn't have walnuts. Baked 70 minutes at 325F. Came out perfectly and everybody loved it--even w/o sauce eaten for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This cake was wonderful. I like others added an extra 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I also used 1 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce like some others did. I didn't have walnuts so they were omitted. I think the next time I make it I will let the cake cool completely before I put the glaze on it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Loved this cake. Wonderful flavor and texture! I did leave off the glaze and added some nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States