Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by bsblmom
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
WOW!!! Very yummy cake!!! Not a big apple fan but was looking for something different to make for my dad's birthday. I am so glad I did or I would have missed out on what is now one of my favorites. I have since made it 4 more times all to rave reviews. Family, friends and co workers... they all love it. Have another baking right now! I did as others said and dropped the temp to 325 and the cook time to 70 minutes. Comes out perfect everytime. Also, I double the caramel sauce using dark brown sugar and half and half instead of milk... butter is also a must. No margarine... That being said. if you have not already made this cake then what are you waiting for??? It is amazing!!! Thanks so much for this incredible recipe! I will be making it for years! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsblmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I don't give many negative reviews but I'm doing this more for the sake that I remember not to make this cake again, at least per instructions. I followed the recipe exactly, though an overwhelming number of reviewers subbed applesauce for some of the oil and changed the bake time and temp. I did not have applesauce so I went ahead and followed the recipe as stated. It smelled delicious and the bake time as stated worked for me. The big turn-off for me is the amount of oil. It was INCREDIBLY oily, so much so that it left a bad taste in my mouth and I didn't even finish my piece. Perhaps it would be better with the applesauce substitute but I think I'll just keep looking for another apple bundt cake. Sorry, as written, this just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This cake is soooo good, after reading the reviews I put in 1 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce. The cake is very moist, will be making again. I didnt add the glaze, I dont think it really needs it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
delicious! the best cake i've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I am reviewing this recipe with 5 stars because not only is it EXCELLENT, but I actually followed the recipe exactly.Anyways, it was amazing, the family loved it. I will make again! Very flavorful and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
the best cake ever, so very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
this cake is awesome!!! i used 1 cup sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. i also added a dash of nutmeg ... it was fantastic . I doubled the glaze recipe but it ended up being way to much. i used the left over glaze to dip the extra apples in .. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenninwonderland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This cake was AWESOME! Not to sweet, with a wonderful flavor, Very moist. Kept on the counter for 3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Served this to my family for dessert last night. They LOVED it. My mom, a very picky eater, said it was so good that she didn't want to swallow! I substituted raisins for the walnuts since my father can't eat them. Baked it at 325 for 70 minutes as suggested, but I think that might have been too long in my oven. Will try 60 minutes next time and will add an extra apple. I did not care for the caramel glaze but it was a huge hit with the fam. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edensmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Awesome apple cake! I served this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States