Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DUFI
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
My son's favorite cake. It is very moist and really delicious. The only change I make is to put 1 up of oil instead of 1 1/2. The first time I made it as written but we found it too oily. Also I use Golden apples because where I live we do not have Granny Smith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Excellent flavor! My first bundt cake and it turned out so well. I did follow the other reviews, baked it on 325 for 70 mins. Doubled the cinnamon and used 1cup brown sugar and 1 cup white. Very moist and such good flavor. I used real butter for the glaze. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I have been making this cake exactly the way it is for my family since I was a little kid (10 years old). Everyone who tries it, loves it. I will try to do some of the substitutes. This has been the best cakes I have ever made. I do make others but can't compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I made the recipe as is and my cake was dry and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I fixed this for my family's Christmas dinner, and it was a hit. Like other reviewers, I changed the baking time to 325 degrees/70 minutes, and it was perfect. I used a different glaze and served it on the side. I'll make this again. Oh, I used 2.5 granny smith apples and substituted 1/2 cup of applesauce for 1/2 cup of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Kester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This was amazing I never made a bundt cake....successfully lol.. but this one came out perfect I followed this to the T except for the apples I used just normal sweet red apples and instead of vanilla extract, I used almond extract. Overall this was an amazing recipe and I am definitely keeping this one on hand great texture, good crunch and so easy to make! Big kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Raymond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This cake is awesome. I did make a goof, but it still came out great. I had six eggs laying on the kitchen counter intending to use them for another recipe. I mistakenly put all six in my cake recipe, but it came out just fine. I did the suggested changes of 1 1/4 cup oil, one cup of white sugar, 1 cup of brown, 2 t. cinnamon and some ground cloves and nutmeg. Baked it for 70 minutes in my convection oven at 330 degrees since I was worried that the six eggs would effect the cooking temperature. Made it in a 10-inch angel food cake pan and it came out of the pan perfectly after cooling for 15 minutes. Before adding the glaze I made some holes in the top of the cake with a toothpick. That allowed more glaze to seep into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baymoah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I found this cake way too oily, even after subbing some of the oil for applesauce. Others liked it, but I didn't even want to finish my piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Yummy! Add extra cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States