Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Served this to my family for dessert last night. They LOVED it. My mom, a very picky eater, said it was so good that she didn't want to swallow! I substituted raisins for the walnuts since my father can't eat them. Baked it at 325 for 70 minutes as suggested, but I think that might have been too long in my oven. Will try 60 minutes next time and will add an extra apple. I did not care for the caramel glaze but it was a huge hit with the fam. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edensmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Awesome apple cake! I served this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly except for 2 changes, I used a loaf pan and omitted the walnuts adding more apples. It turned out great! Everyone loved it and it was very moist. The caramel glaze is delicious and MAKES the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandajo
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was my husbands FAV dessert that I have ever made! I have made it 3 TIMES this week for him to take to work. I did follow suggestions for substituting 1/2 cup of oil with applesauce and baking it at 325 for 70 minutes. The only suggestion that I have is to make the caramel glaze the day that you plan to serve because it gets gritty if made the night before or find a different recipe for caramel. I was told you can caramelize Eagle Brand Condensed Milk but haven't tried it. All in all this was a FANTASTIC dessert! Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This recipe reminds me of my great grandmother's spiced apple cake. It's absolutely delicious and makes your house smell wonderful! I left out the walnuts and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Most of the time, I have either Fugi or Gala apples on hand and I used those (one each) in this cake in lieu of the Granny Smiths. I also split the sugar between white and brown. I let it sit for an entire day before I let DH know I had a cake baked. I don't know if that helped the flavors meld or not. I do know that it surely did not hurt!! The only thing that really bothers me is that I wanted to take a picture and submit it. The cake was beautiful, absolutely delicious and gone in a flash. DH took half to work where 4 co-workers have asked for the recipe and I shared the remaining half with BF and neighbor. Will I do this one again? You betcha!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very good cake. I made as a sheet cake because that is the pan I had. I also subbed 1/2 cup of oil for cinnamon applesauce, only added 1 3/4 cup of sugar and regarding the apples used 3 cups of red rome-not sure how much the 2 apples would have yielded. I cooked on 325 and at 50 minutes it was done. Brought into work today and everyone has said how much they love it! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
A good recipe, and delicious autumn dessert. I followed some reviewers and cut the oil content to 1 cup, and added 1/2 cup of applesauce. This keeps the moisture without making it greasy, and adds more apple flavour. Also, I didnt believe the baking time when I read it so I checked it after 45 minutes and it was done, a bit overdone even. I reccomed checking after 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I followed the advice of other reviewers and subbed 1/2c of applesauce for 1/2c oil. I also used all whole wheat flour - that was probably a bit much, as it was much more hearty-tasting than most cakes. I'd probably go 3/4 ww 1/4 white next time. I added probably 4 medium/small chopped apples, and I'd add more next time. And, last sub: 1/2 white 1/2 brown sugar. I didn't go with the glaze, as I didn't want to add a stick of butter to this thing, and it was very tasty without it. Disappeared very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lexpsu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Jervis, New York, USA
Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I made this just as directed. My family gave it rave reviews. All the way from my husband, daughter, son-in-law, and young granddaughter. Fantastic, thanks for sharing MrsMorton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States