Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This cake is soooo yummy!!!! I made it for guest and everyone loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Youngblood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This is the best cake ever! I make this serveral times in the fall until winter time. Sometimes i do not put the Icing on the cake. I will put it on the side so the guest can use as much as they like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bevarly
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Wow! I have never, ever had so many people compliment my cooking so much! Only thing I changed was adding a half teaspoon of cinnamon because I really like cinnamon, and omitting the walnut because I didn't have any. Baked it at 325* for an hour. I poured the caramel onto the cake right onto the plate. After that, I cut up some apples and let them soak in some lemon water so they wouldn't brown, and placed the cut apples around the cake where the caramel was on the plate and into the hole of of the cake. It was nice to look at, and they served as apples dippers and an extra treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Very good! Absolutely delicious. Brown sugar topping is delicious. Only complaint is with baking time. I baked mine for just under and hour, and even then I think I could have taken it out a couple minutes earlier. Keep an eye on it while baking to determine how long it should be in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Excellent. I made it as written and it was very good. Only suggestion I have, is you need to let the caramel glaze cool and thicken before you pour it over or it all pours off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
OMG...I tired this recipe about a year ago, wrote the recipe because printer was "off line" and didnt write the name of recipe down or who created it...finally found it...to those of you looking for something sweet and delicious try this, my family Loves this recipe. Grandson requested it for his Birthday...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadine James

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bsblmom
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
WOW!!! Very yummy cake!!! Not a big apple fan but was looking for something different to make for my dad's birthday. I am so glad I did or I would have missed out on what is now one of my favorites. I have since made it 4 more times all to rave reviews. Family, friends and co workers... they all love it. Have another baking right now! I did as others said and dropped the temp to 325 and the cook time to 70 minutes. Comes out perfect everytime. Also, I double the caramel sauce using dark brown sugar and half and half instead of milk... butter is also a must. No margarine... That being said. if you have not already made this cake then what are you waiting for??? It is amazing!!! Thanks so much for this incredible recipe! I will be making it for years! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsblmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I don't give many negative reviews but I'm doing this more for the sake that I remember not to make this cake again, at least per instructions. I followed the recipe exactly, though an overwhelming number of reviewers subbed applesauce for some of the oil and changed the bake time and temp. I did not have applesauce so I went ahead and followed the recipe as stated. It smelled delicious and the bake time as stated worked for me. The big turn-off for me is the amount of oil. It was INCREDIBLY oily, so much so that it left a bad taste in my mouth and I didn't even finish my piece. Perhaps it would be better with the applesauce substitute but I think I'll just keep looking for another apple bundt cake. Sorry, as written, this just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This cake is soooo good, after reading the reviews I put in 1 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce. The cake is very moist, will be making again. I didnt add the glaze, I dont think it really needs it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
delicious! the best cake i've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States