Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I am reviewing this recipe with 5 stars because not only is it EXCELLENT, but I actually followed the recipe exactly.Anyways, it was amazing, the family loved it. I will make again! Very flavorful and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
the best cake ever, so very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
this cake is awesome!!! i used 1 cup sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. i also added a dash of nutmeg ... it was fantastic . I doubled the glaze recipe but it ended up being way to much. i used the left over glaze to dip the extra apples in .. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenninwonderland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This cake was AWESOME! Not to sweet, with a wonderful flavor, Very moist. Kept on the counter for 3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Served this to my family for dessert last night. They LOVED it. My mom, a very picky eater, said it was so good that she didn't want to swallow! I substituted raisins for the walnuts since my father can't eat them. Baked it at 325 for 70 minutes as suggested, but I think that might have been too long in my oven. Will try 60 minutes next time and will add an extra apple. I did not care for the caramel glaze but it was a huge hit with the fam. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edensmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Awesome apple cake! I served this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly except for 2 changes, I used a loaf pan and omitted the walnuts adding more apples. It turned out great! Everyone loved it and it was very moist. The caramel glaze is delicious and MAKES the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandajo
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was my husbands FAV dessert that I have ever made! I have made it 3 TIMES this week for him to take to work. I did follow suggestions for substituting 1/2 cup of oil with applesauce and baking it at 325 for 70 minutes. The only suggestion that I have is to make the caramel glaze the day that you plan to serve because it gets gritty if made the night before or find a different recipe for caramel. I was told you can caramelize Eagle Brand Condensed Milk but haven't tried it. All in all this was a FANTASTIC dessert! Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This recipe reminds me of my great grandmother's spiced apple cake. It's absolutely delicious and makes your house smell wonderful! I left out the walnuts and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Most of the time, I have either Fugi or Gala apples on hand and I used those (one each) in this cake in lieu of the Granny Smiths. I also split the sugar between white and brown. I let it sit for an entire day before I let DH know I had a cake baked. I don't know if that helped the flavors meld or not. I do know that it surely did not hurt!! The only thing that really bothers me is that I wanted to take a picture and submit it. The cake was beautiful, absolutely delicious and gone in a flash. DH took half to work where 4 co-workers have asked for the recipe and I shared the remaining half with BF and neighbor. Will I do this one again? You betcha!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernGma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States