Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This cake is fantastic. Perfect autumn cake on a rainy day. I did change a couple of things-I only used 1c oil and added 1/2c apple sauce. I also grated 1 apple w peel and chopped the other very fine. Only made 1/2 the caramel(my daughter wanted me to make the rest so she could eat it w spoon-lol). Oh the apples were gala. I will definately make this a keeper. Thanks so much for delicious cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Great recipe!! Made it last night, with freshly picked Red Rome Apples, they are very large so I used 1 1/2 apples, everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Great cake. I substituted the caramel sauce with caramel ice cream topping. Just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Yummy... I made this and it came out amazing!!! Love the caramel sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rasberri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was FABULOUS! I boiled the glaze for about 90 seconds to make it more like caramel and then poured half of it over the cake on a cake plate. I waited until it cooled and thickened slightly and then poured the rest over it. It was like a caramel candy coating. We couldn't stop eating it warm with vanilla ice cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This cake is soooo yummy!!!! I made it for guest and everyone loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Youngblood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This is the best cake ever! I make this serveral times in the fall until winter time. Sometimes i do not put the Icing on the cake. I will put it on the side so the guest can use as much as they like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bevarly
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Wow! I have never, ever had so many people compliment my cooking so much! Only thing I changed was adding a half teaspoon of cinnamon because I really like cinnamon, and omitting the walnut because I didn't have any. Baked it at 325* for an hour. I poured the caramel onto the cake right onto the plate. After that, I cut up some apples and let them soak in some lemon water so they wouldn't brown, and placed the cut apples around the cake where the caramel was on the plate and into the hole of of the cake. It was nice to look at, and they served as apples dippers and an extra treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Very good! Absolutely delicious. Brown sugar topping is delicious. Only complaint is with baking time. I baked mine for just under and hour, and even then I think I could have taken it out a couple minutes earlier. Keep an eye on it while baking to determine how long it should be in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Excellent. I made it as written and it was very good. Only suggestion I have, is you need to let the caramel glaze cool and thicken before you pour it over or it all pours off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States