Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Made this cake using recipe exactly as written and it was a HUGE hit! Absolutely the best and unbelievably moist! This is one I will definitely be making again (and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I went with some of the suggestions like using applesauce for a part of the oil and dividing up the white and brown sugar. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This cake turned out beautiful, and everyone liked it. The glaze was nice and thick, after cooling for a minute or so and slowly spooning it on. For me though, the cake had way too much oil, and I even cut it to 1 cup. I could taste the oil in the finished cake and on my tongue afterwards. The glaze is amazing though, and no one else mentioned tasting the oil. This is a recipe that is a good base for me to try to tweak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyjojo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I didn't add any nuts due to allergies, but this was a delicious homemade cake. It seemed a bit dense for my family's taste, but it is something that I'd make again anyway because it had such wonderful flavor. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Omg..so sad! It totally stuck in bundt pan...but is so delicious! Why did it stick...I sprayed with Pam! So sad because it is so delicious...any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
So good! I prepared this for my In-laws anniversary party and it got rave reviews. I did the suggestions by a couple other reviewers and used the applesauce in place of some of the oil and baked at 325 for 70 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Morrison, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This recipe was really good. I did use half brown and half white sugar and doubled the cinnamon per the other reviews. The cake is so moist and has great taste, I just wish the apples didn't get lost in the taste. I used Jonathan apples thinking that you would be able to taste them more, but they didn't really stand out. This was a really good spice cake though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I made this for a dinner party and it was a great dessert - but I found it lacked flavour on the first day. This is definitely a cake that tastes better on the second day. I substituted pecans for the walnuts and although I started applying the glaze when the cake was warm (per the instructions), it simply melted into the cake, so I waited until the cake was cool to apply the rest of the glaze so that it could actually be seen. I served the cake along with some cinnamon whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Brought this cake to work. Co-workers liked it. The glaze gave it the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Veryyyyy very delicious! Its similar and much better than a streusel cake or coffee cake. Tastes like something that'd go greatttt with a cup of coffee The caramel glaze all seeped to the bottom (best part) but it was clear and so the cake didn't look frosted. Suggest using something to make it thicker and/or perhaps mix in some powdered sugar for aesthetic purposes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States