Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Brought to a family gathering and all said it was to die for! I did adjust the recipe according to many reviewers using 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar, 1 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce and doubling the cinnamon. Due to traveling, I spooned the caramel glaze on individual slices. The glaze makes the dessert! Was told I have to make it again for the upcoming holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I really liked this cake. I used the 1 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. This cake was so moist and almost tasted like apple pie in cake form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
So good! I used 1 1/4 cup vegetable oil and 2 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice instead of the 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. The glaze was really runny, next time I might let it sit and cool a little before drizzling it on the cake. However, the cake soaked up the glaze and it tasted great. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
What is there not to love - please don't change this recipe. Granted it isn't for every day because it is rich but great for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I did have to change this a little-couldn't find my Bundt pan and I am allergic to walnuts so I cut them out. Normally I don't review when I make changes because I feel like I am not really reviewing the recipe (wish more people felt this way). However... I feel like this is more or less the same cake and I wanted to rave! This cake was a huge hit at the dinner I went to. NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Wow! I took this to a potluck and there was not a crumb left. Wonderful cake, I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Wow! After making this cake I knew it would go over well, but I had no clue how EVERYONE would rave about it. My neice, who NEVER eats anything even had 2 slices and took another 2 home. That's saying alot. It was moist, not too sweet but sweet enough to cure a sweet-tooth. I used applesause instead of 1/2 the oil and baked it per the original recipe as far as time and temp. I was quite a success, sadly there weren't any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Great recipe! I did modify to make it more healthier & taking all the advice from prev reviews. I used 1.5C apple sauce, 2C cubed apples, 1C brown 1C white sugar & 1 tsp cinnamon. Baked 325 for 70 mins. I mixed everything by hand too. Very dense cake & the glaze was perfect. Daughter loved it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Made this twice, first time with the applesauce then with the oil .I prefer the applesauce. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SASSYKAT63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My son found this recipe 3 years ago and made it for me on Mother's Day. I have requested it for my birthday and Mother's Day ever since! It is AMAZING! He also makes it for family gatherings and it is requested for those now too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELINDA831

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States