Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This cake was WAY too sweet and bland, lacking any apple flavor whatsoever. Only a single slice was consumed at T-Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was so good. I made this for Thanksgiving everybody loved this. I added a pinch more cinnamon definetly a good addition to the recipe. Try this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I made this for a project in my baking class. The chef and others thought it was really good. I brought the left overs home and my dad gladly ate them up. It is a nice tender cake with the perfect amount of spice and apples. It goes really well with homemade ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was absolutely fantastic. I did take the advice of some fellow reviewers below, and made a handful of changes to make it healthier.. but this was demolished at Thanksgiving! I used 1 cup of suger/splenda blend in place of 2 cups of white sugar, 1 cup of applesauce in place of 1 cup of oil, replaced one egg with an egg white, used 1.5 cups of white flour and 1.5 cups of wheat flour and upped the baking soda to 2 teaspoons. I also used 3 apples instead of 2. I thought there was actually too much glaze so next time I'll reduce the butter by half. I also replaced the brown sugar with 1/4 cup of splenda/brown sugar mix. I also cooked on 325 for about 65 minutes. 70 minutes was a bit too long. This was amazing though! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This cake is really good. I followed other reviews and used 1/2c. applesauce and 1c. olive oil. I also used 1cup of brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar. The apples I had were on the small side. I shredded 5 apples, skins and all. I did lower the oven temp to 325, but it took longer than 70 minutes to bake. One review recommended doubling the glaze. I made 1&1/2, and I think making the regular amount would have been fine. I did add 1tsp vanilla and 1-2 tsp cinnamon. I thought it called for it. This cake was really good. Moist, but not really heavy. The glaze was good, and it didn't weigh down the cake, or make it soggy. This one is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Sorry, but it needs more apples and it is so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Very moist cake that I will make again. Used modifications posted by other users and subbed 1/2C applesauce for 1/2C oil and reduced oven temp to 325 and baking time to 75 min. Also, I'm too lazy to chop the apples so I grated them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toledo, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
OMG! This apple cake is so moist and so delicious! It's the perfect fall dessert. I used half white sugar and half brown sugar and next time I would probably cut back on the oil because it was almost too moist. I used 3 Granny Smith apples and didn't add the walnuts to the cake but rather sprinkled them over top of the cake along with the caramel glaze which was fabulous. I did add just a splash of vanilla to that to give it more of that "caramel" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Made this cake for a co-workers B'day. Everyone raved. It was great. Will make again and again I'm sure. I will use cream instead of milk next time but it was great just by the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
The only problem with this cake is we cant keep our hands off of it! :) Very yummy. Reminds me of a cake my mom made when I was a kid! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States