Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This cake was wonderful. I like others added an extra 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I also used 1 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce like some others did. I didn't have walnuts so they were omitted. I think the next time I make it I will let the cake cool completely before I put the glaze on it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Loved this cake. Wonderful flavor and texture! I did leave off the glaze and added some nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by womuf
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I wish I could give this recipe more than 5 stars! This cake is scrumptious and easy to make! Even my picky bf loved this cake and requested more. The glaze and the cake are like the perfect combination! I followed the advice of other reviewers and baked at 325 degrees for 70 minutes and my cake came out perfect each time. Definitely a keeper because it's simply the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was one of my first bundt cakes, and it turned out so great! I loved how the glaze turned into a candy like shell. It made for a very impressive dessert - served even to the inlaws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I, too, am one who has never written a review, until now. This cake is wonderful. I always have awful experiences when trying new recipes (or any recipes for that matter). But this cake is scrumptious. I made it on Saturday and by Sunday it was almost gone. And there were only two people in the house at the time. I was concerned when I made the glaze because it is awfully wet, but I ended up loving it because it gets a little crusty and gives the cake an almost coffe cake texture on top. It is incredible; I will make this cake many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Absolutely delightful! I added 1 cup of chocolate chips as well. Worked wonderfully with the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I thought this cake was delicious!!! I love how the top of the cake was crunchy so that when you flip it over, it's like a crust! I didn't pour the glaze over the whole cake, I just drizzled it over individual pieces. With the leftovers, I didn't use the caramel at all, I just ate the cake the way it was for a breakfast treat! So YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Gave this recipe a shot, and it worked out WONDERFULLY! I reduced the cook time to 70 minutes, and doubled the cinnamon. Dough is very thick, which concerned me, but it turns out perfect. Before serving, warm a slice in the toaster oven and add a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
All that oil left us tasting it in the cake afterwards. Might try substituting another fat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Palestine, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This cake was moist and really good. Made it for a a school function and it got alot of attention....I also made some minor tweks after reading the boards...i also baked it at 325 for 70 and it was perfect. One for the recipe book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vidalia, Georgia, USA
Living In: Estacada, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States