Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Awesome, awesome, awesome. Used 3 small granny smith apples and doubled the brown sugar in the frosting (which I spread all over the warm cake, letting it absorb - ended up looking like a honey bun! Mmmm).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I have made this cake three times in the last five days! It is awesome! I made the suggested modifications (1c brown sugar and 1c white sugar, 1/2c applesauce and 1c vegetable oil, and double the cinnamon). My husband and our five children can't get enough of this cake! Wonderful recipe! *Note*--I tried it with the correct amount of sugar because I ran out of brown sugar, and we liked it a lot better that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I thought this cake was wonderful. The only change I purposely made was to bake at 325 for 70 minutes like the reviewers suggested. Now my accidental change, I added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon. Dont ask me how I did that. I was very worried by how much that was, but was pleasantly surprised! Was so good and was complimented on at Thanksgiving dinner. The second time i made this i used slightly less cinnamon so the apples can stand out a bit and somehow this was even more wonderful this time!!! YUMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELM82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Came out lookin' great! I followed the recipe exactly. The only downside to it was that the caramel glaze wasn't quite glaze-like. Though, the additional flavor is tasty. Overall, I really liked it and it's definitely something I'll be making again. Maybe I'll learn how to make the glaze better, hehe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Great recipe. I brought the cake to Thanksgiving and everyone really enjoyed it. I did make a few changes ~ I used 1 cup of butter (rather than the oil) and a 1/3 cup of applesauce, doubled the cinnamon and added nutmeg. Next time I'll add a bit more cinnamon and more nutmeg. But still really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
My husband fell in love with me all over again. I didn't have a bunt pan. I used a regular cake pan. I cooked it for 85 min. did half sugar and half brown sugar. No nutz. Added nutmeg and more cinnamon. The glaze I had trouble with. It was really watery when I put it on the cake. But still tasted great. I did find a recipe for the glaze that is perfect. 1 stick of butter melt in pan then add 1/4 cup heavy cream and 1 cup of brown sugar! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Very Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Yumm. I followed several suggestions concerning brown sugar, applesauce and temp and this is a great cake. I drizzled the top with ice cream topping instead of preparing the glaze - only because I was distracted watching those Texas Tech Red Raiders win their football game. And five teenagers couldn't wait to dig in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I've already made this cake twice this week because I just can't get enough of it! I did take the advice of several reviews to bake @ 325 for 70 minutes, and used applesauce for 1/3 of the oil - thanks! I also used the tips to put foil or a paper plate under the rack to catch the glaze drippings - until today. Instead, I put the cake plate under the rack, then set the cake right on top of all the drippings - no mess to clean, no waste, and now underneath is saturated as well. Mmm-mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rotterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States