Apple Hand Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Very easy and delicious. I made my apple filling the night before and left it in the fridge so the flavor could really seep into the apples. I also popped my turnovers back in the fridge on the baking sheet after assembling to chill the dough to get more fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Really good and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Wonderful!! I made the suggested pie crust in the video and it phenomenal! I used three rather small apples. Next time, if I use small apples, I will add one more small apple to my pie filling. My only suggestion is to not make too many because you will be tempted to eat all of them. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ezierk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MyBoysAreMyLife
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
It took a while longer for the apples to get soft than what was in the instructions and the pies browned more quickly 10-15 minutes was more than enough. Aside from cooking times this recipe was the best I've ever had (don't tell my mother). Made it this morning for a shop full of mechanics (man can they eat) and was asked if they could be adopted.... id say thats a pretty good sign. In fact I have already added it as a permanent addition to my cookbook. Fantastic recipe. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I usually make apple pie, today it was time for something different. The whole family loved the turnovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I doubled the recipe & used Pillsbury Pie Dough to make a pie to take to dinner with friends. It scored!!! I do want to make the hand held tarts for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
What a simple yet delicious apple pie filling! I used 2 JonaGold apples, and used only 4 TBS of brown sugar. Also, I removed the apples after 5 mins (I like a bit of texture in my apple pies) and reduced the leftover syrup, which I then returned to the apples. I only had Crescent Roll dough, so I made turnovers with those - I added some walnuts as well. Everybody loved them! I really appreciate how you can adjust the sweetness with this recipe so the apples come out perfect - not too tart, not too sweet. This might be my go-to apple pie recipe from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Excellent recipe! My ten year old said that this is now her favourite dessert. The only change I made was to use a pre made dough for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
great recipe! Everyone in our family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessMel
Home Town: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States