Apple Hand Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by notabrat1
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This is yummy! I made the filling to use up a leftover pie crust that I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notabrat1
Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I absolutely love this recipe. I dont like granny smith apples so I used 1 gala and 1 fuji. This combination was perfect for me. The rest of this recipe was followed to the letter. My crust was a scratch recipe from Betty Crocker. This will be my only recipe for apple pies. Thanks chef john.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I know people will hate me for this, so my apologies in advance, but I wanted to make cherry turnovers (without frying) and had no idea how to do it. I used a prepackaged crust I had to get rid of and canned cherries (blech, I know), but for the record baking method was spot on. Cut dough into quarters, rolled out, and finished as directed for above pies. Husband loved. Can't wait to try it with fresh apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
They were great! I drizzled a bit of Hersheys caramel sauce over the apples, we did not regret it. =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Very easy and delicious. I made my apple filling the night before and left it in the fridge so the flavor could really seep into the apples. I also popped my turnovers back in the fridge on the baking sheet after assembling to chill the dough to get more fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Really good and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Wonderful!! I made the suggested pie crust in the video and it phenomenal! I used three rather small apples. Next time, if I use small apples, I will add one more small apple to my pie filling. My only suggestion is to not make too many because you will be tempted to eat all of them. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ezierk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MyBoysAreMyLife
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
It took a while longer for the apples to get soft than what was in the instructions and the pies browned more quickly 10-15 minutes was more than enough. Aside from cooking times this recipe was the best I've ever had (don't tell my mother). Made it this morning for a shop full of mechanics (man can they eat) and was asked if they could be adopted.... id say thats a pretty good sign. In fact I have already added it as a permanent addition to my cookbook. Fantastic recipe. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I usually make apple pie, today it was time for something different. The whole family loved the turnovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States