Apple Ham Grilled Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was a wonderful sandwich. Being an apple lover I am always ready to try something new. These flavors blended so well together. I think this would also be great made with chicken salad. I will make this often. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I think you definitely need to use a tart apple for this. Sometimes I use bacon in place of the ham and saute some red onion and add that to the mix. Versatile and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I tried out this grilled cheese not know what to expect. I mean apples with mayo? but, on the other hand, it was AMAZING! I made this grilled cheese using red apples and smoked ham with yarlsburg cheese and chibatta bread. If you want a more crispier bread, skip the milk with egg and just go with the butter. One thing that I have to remember is to cut the apple THINLY. you don't want them too thick or then they will fall out of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I really liked this! It was different and good! I used green apple and didnt peel it and I used sharp cheddar. Turned out very nice, I'm sure I'll make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
So delicious! I didn't add the ham, but the combination of the cheese/apples on a grilled sandwich..yummy! Filling all on it's own or maybe a cup of soup for a heartier dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDiaz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagle Rock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
very tasty. used more ham than called for so needed extra cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
We loved the recipe. The french toast was a nice idea. For a change, we like to omit the mayo, and use drained crushed pineapple in place of the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I love these grilled cheese sandwiches. I omit the egg, and simply grill it like a regular grilled cheese, or I bake them in a 400 degree oven if I'm making them for everyone for dinner. I spread a little mayo and brown mustard on my bread and then simply layer ham, sharp cheddar and sometimes monterey jack cheese, and thinly sliced apples. They're delicious, and make a quick lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baker at  heart
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
MMMM MMMM GOOD! I didn't even dip it into the egg mixture. Just made it and toasted it up in the pan w/ a pat of butter like a regular grilled cheese. Everyone loved it, especially my 6 yr. old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Yum! I used soy 'ham' and all-natural canola mayonnaise with granny smith apple and cheddar. This was so good. I debated the mayo, but I love the mayo I used. I would never use 'salad dressing' type spread--but real mayo is delicious on this! I think it would be great on light rye bread as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States