Apple Ham Grilled Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This was a unique kind of grilled cheese... and I like unique!You can taste all the different layers of the flavors while your eating it.It tasted like a combination of french toast and grilled cheese. This would probably be a good recipe for a brunch.I followed the recipe exactly. I used a granny smith apple and smoked ham, but the recipe doesn't specify, so you can use whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I really liked this! It was different and good! I used green apple and didnt peel it and I used sharp cheddar. Turned out very nice, I'm sure I'll make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I love these grilled cheese sandwiches. I omit the egg, and simply grill it like a regular grilled cheese, or I bake them in a 400 degree oven if I'm making them for everyone for dinner. I spread a little mayo and brown mustard on my bread and then simply layer ham, sharp cheddar and sometimes monterey jack cheese, and thinly sliced apples. They're delicious, and make a quick lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
So delicious! I didn't add the ham, but the combination of the cheese/apples on a grilled sandwich..yummy! Filling all on it's own or maybe a cup of soup for a heartier dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDiaz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagle Rock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I was not pleased with how this sandwich turned out. It was a quick fix for dinner but the taste was not as great as I had anticipated. I did leave out the mayo and I added oregano so maybe if I had stuck to the original recipe they would have turned out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haylee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was pretty good. I tried it according to the recipe and liked it alright but it seemed bland. I added some lemon juice to keep the apples from oxidizing and to add some extra flavor and put the leftovers in the fridge for the next day. Then I tried it wrapped up in a tortilla and baked in the oven until the cheese was melted, omitting the egg dip step. Definitely better with the lemon juice and tortilla. Less fat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I had to give this recipe 4 stars, but with my alterations, I would rate it 5. I make this sandwich with thinly sliced, high-quality ham such as Boar's Head. I use green, pink lady, or gala apples and I never remove the peel. I then simply layer the ham, apple, and cheese on the bread (I like using bakery bread like a honey wheat), dip in egg, and grill. I would never chop the ham and add mayo - the sandwich is so delicious and so much better for you without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by althee921

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I think you definitely need to use a tart apple for this. Sometimes I use bacon in place of the ham and saute some red onion and add that to the mix. Versatile and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by baker at  heart
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
MMMM MMMM GOOD! I didn't even dip it into the egg mixture. Just made it and toasted it up in the pan w/ a pat of butter like a regular grilled cheese. Everyone loved it, especially my 6 yr. old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Yum! I used soy 'ham' and all-natural canola mayonnaise with granny smith apple and cheddar. This was so good. I debated the mayo, but I love the mayo I used. I would never use 'salad dressing' type spread--but real mayo is delicious on this! I think it would be great on light rye bread as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States