Apple Fritters I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Great Recipe. Didn't have nutmeg so added cinnamon instead. Chopped apples using food chopper and patted with paper towel to dry. Mix into dough. Used my small pampered chef cookie scoop to make small balls, came out perfect. Large scoop - was still doughy on inside. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Good recipe. We're just in search of something more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These are just like my mom used to make! I cannot stop eating them! If you prefer a little more flavor, more nutmeg, cinnamon, or some other added flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Good Recipe!!! I diced the apples as oposed to making rings. I gave it only four stars because it is slightly bland and I added some nutmeg and allspice. Very easy to follow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milo, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Did not like these at all. I followed the recipe, with the exception of adding cinnamon, and they turned out limp, mushy, and rubbery. (I did use a deep fryer and waited until the temp was correct.) Definitely needs major tweaking--maybe buttermilk and baking soda instead of milk? Anyway, I probably won't bother again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
AWESOME! I added a few changes...doubled the sugar, added 1 tsp of cinnamon, and 1 tsp of vanilla. Diced the apples as suggested in other reviews. microwaved them for a couple minutes. Used a spoon and dipped them into the oil. half way through I realized the batter would make a great doughnut so I ended up making lil doughnut balls just by dropping the batter into the oil and ending up making funnelcakes also by drizzling the batter into the oil over and over till it covers the top!!! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This recipe was just alright for me. I was hoping for something more like the apple fritter donut I usually think of. These were good but not great. I cup up the apple instead of doing apple rings, which I did like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
My boyfriend and I love to cook so we made these together. Everyone is right on them being very bland. The batter was also too thick. We had to add more milk. We also cut back on the baking powder to just a teaspoon. Seasoned the batter with cinnamon and sugar to give it more taste. It still needs a couple of extra tweaks to make this a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Great fritter recipe. Just changed a few things. I cut up the apples into big chunks and tossed them with cinnamon sugar before adding to the batter. I also increased the amount of sugar in the batter to 1/2 cup and added a teas. of vanilla. My boyfriend went crazy for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I, too, did as others posted and diced the apples, adding them directly to the batter, and pouring out with a measuring cup. Instead of dusting with confectioner's sugar though, I made it into a glaze and coated the fritters with that. Tastes much closer to the doughnut shop fritters that way, and that's what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States