Apple Flavored Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Delicious. I cooked it in the crock pot by coating it in the onion soup mix and searing it in a pan. I put it in the crock pot and added the veggies (carrots and parsnips)underneath. The sweet and savory combo worked nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stress free chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I loved this (and so did my husband, who doesn't normally like sweet or apple flavored meals). I browned the roast in a skillet and poked about 10 garlic slivers into it then transferred to my crockpot. I added the rest of the ingredients and slow-cooked for about 6 hours. I can't wait to make it again... the leftovers went much too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
My roast is cooking as I write this. I used 21/2 cups apple cider instead of apple juice concentrate. I also browned beef and veggies first, deglazing the pan with 1/2 cup brandy before adding the cider. Because I generously seasoned the roast and veg with salt and pepper, I did forgo the soy sauce. I tasted the broth as I put the roast in the oven----very good balance of sweet and savory. Will add beef broth to drippings when making gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I loved this dish! The only thing I did differently was instead of juice concentrate I used apple sauce, just a bit more than 12 ounces though and it was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Joye Puzio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Delicious pot roast! It was so good, a 3 lb roast only served 2 of us with a little left for lunch. Not too sweet or onion-y. I cooked mine in a slow cooker. Placed the meat and non-veggies inside as directed on high for 4 hours, then sliced up the veggies and put them on high for another 2. Came out fantastically. Might add sliced apple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I used it with chicken and was delicious! Will use again with beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Not as good as I thought, though 1 family memeber liked it. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
It's a great recipe, accentuated by the sweetness. Adding a Granny Smith Apple in with the potatoes and carrots gives it an extra 'umph'. All in all, expect the vegetable to hold more of the apple flavor than the meat, even with the garlic insertions. Basting helps, and should be added to the official instructions. A delicious dish regardless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Austin Tromburg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I've made this recipe numerous times, both in my oven and in my slow cooker. I always make it when my local grocery has roasts on special that come with free bags of veggies. It is a little sweet (I've made it with both apple juice and the frozen concentrate) but I don't find the sweetness overpowering at all. I dump it all in the slow cooker and after an hour or two of cooking, I add in carrots, quartered onions, and diced potatoes. Then I just cook it until the meat falls apart. It's so delicious. As per another review, I also used my leftovers the first time to make stew and dumplings. I found the recipe for that on here was too many steps for what I had, so I just reheated the leftover frozen pot roast with all the juice and veg and then made dumplings to drop in. It came out super delicious. Great repurposed meal as well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Very good! Simple to make. My kid loved it. I put this in the crockpot on Low for 8 hrs, turned out tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States