Apple Filled Chicken in Pecan Creme Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I used a red Apple and not a Granny Smith and it still turned out delicious. It was sweet but with a side of wild rice it went well together. Also made a spinach salad with strawberries, pomegranate, left over pecans and poppyseed dressing! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
The egg yolk sauce belongs on a dessert...not a savory chicken dish. The cheese got lost in all the shallots and apples. I only ate a few bites and then I had to stop...way too sweet! Definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I liked the cheese and apples inside the chicken better than the chicken...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
The sauce was way way to sweet and the stuffing was lost in all the sweetness. I used this as a valentine dinner so the sweetness played out ok, I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I substituted some onion for the shallots and swiss cheese for the provolone (because that's all I had available in the kitchen). After reading other comments, I decided to pull back on the sweetness by reducing the sugar to 2 Tbs and the vanilla to just over 1/4 tsp. I also added a splash of milk to thin the sauce out so that it wasn't too custard-like. The result was phenomenal! I will definitely make this recipe again... what a different way to prepare chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
My kids (7 and 11) LOVED this one! It is really sweet, but delicious. Its like having dessert for dinner! If you don't have a sweet tooth like us, I too would suggest cutting back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Good, but too sweet as written. Next time will cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I really liked this recipe. We didn't have white wine, so I subsituted apple juice, and my husband missed my note to reduce the sugar, so the sauce was definitely sweet, but still quite good. I think with the wine, and a little less sugar this would be great. Too much work to put it in my regular rotation, but a great every-now-and-then, special occasion recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This was excellent! Husband and three-year old daughter loved it! Didn't have provolone, used Baby Friulano...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Don't get me wrong, this is a good recipe. It's just that the sauce is so powerfully sweet that it overwelms the rest of the flavors. My guests did rave that it was an excellent meal. I used Gouda cheese; which is stronger than provolone, but it still needs something stronger. I'm thinking next time I'll use Blue Cheese and tart apples to try and even out the sweetness of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Credit River Township, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States