Apple-Feta Tossed Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I loved this! I followed another reviewer's advice and used 6 Tbsp. of olive oil and 2 Tbsp. vinegar. I also substituted a shallot for the onion. Next time, I will use 1/2 shallot, though, as it was very strong. I followed the remainder of the recipe exactly. Even my third-grader thought the dressing was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
As the other reviewers said, the salad combination is wonderful. The dressing is terrible. I wish I would have read through the reviews before I made the dressing. Even after I added a considerable amount of olive oil, I was left with a very strong salad dressing. I didn't mind it, but it wasn't fit for a crowd. Next time I'll add less white wine vinegar and mustard and add olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I have to agree with other reviewers - this vinaigrette was barely tolerable. I added the 2 T oil, even though it wasn't in the recipe. Still way to tangy. I also had issues with the walnuts. I made as directed the first time, and they burned before the 15 minutes were up. The second time I didn't bake them after cooking them in the skillet. That worked better, but they just tasted like butter. This was very disappointing to me, as we were having a ladies' lunch and my pregnant friend, who hosted, requested I bring a yummy salad. Sadly, this was not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I made this salad last night for dinner it was awesome. I had to add about an extra 1/2 tsp sugar to the dressiing and a little extra olive oil and vinegar the dijon mustard was really strong tasting. The original recipe didnot call for the olive oil but i added as another review had done and i only had red wine vinegar i am going to try this with white wine vinegar as it says to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
It's a great salad once you add some olive oil to the dressing. Without the olive oil, the dressing is, of course, terrible. I only made enough salad for myself so I used 1 tbsp. of olive oil and 1 tsp. of the vinegar. This is a great fall salad when all different varieties of apples are plentiful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I read the reviews before starting and decided to make the dressing as stated first. Upon tasting, I decided to add vegetable oil. I only had iceburg lettuce so I used that instead. I think this may have been better with a different cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Very good I added 4 TBS oil to 2 TBS vinegar for the dressing. I didn't add butter and rather heated the walnuts up in a pan then added brown sugar and pepper to carmelize them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Delicious! Made this salad for Christmas day brunch. Everyone loved it and went back for seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Not bad! My husband made it and put in too much lettuce so I couldn't get a good feel of the flavoring, but it seemed good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
The salad is wonderful, but the dressing is far too strong. Don't let that discourage you. The salad really is a treat. I make for dinner parties and everyone always loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States