Apple-Feta Tossed Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
As the other reviewers said, the salad combination is wonderful. The dressing is terrible. I wish I would have read through the reviews before I made the dressing. Even after I added a considerable amount of olive oil, I was left with a very strong salad dressing. I didn't mind it, but it wasn't fit for a crowd. Next time I'll add less white wine vinegar and mustard and add olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I have to agree with other reviewers - this vinaigrette was barely tolerable. I added the 2 T oil, even though it wasn't in the recipe. Still way to tangy. I also had issues with the walnuts. I made as directed the first time, and they burned before the 15 minutes were up. The second time I didn't bake them after cooking them in the skillet. That worked better, but they just tasted like butter. This was very disappointing to me, as we were having a ladies' lunch and my pregnant friend, who hosted, requested I bring a yummy salad. Sadly, this was not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I made this salad last night for dinner it was awesome. I had to add about an extra 1/2 tsp sugar to the dressiing and a little extra olive oil and vinegar the dijon mustard was really strong tasting. The original recipe didnot call for the olive oil but i added as another review had done and i only had red wine vinegar i am going to try this with white wine vinegar as it says to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
It's a great salad once you add some olive oil to the dressing. Without the olive oil, the dressing is, of course, terrible. I only made enough salad for myself so I used 1 tbsp. of olive oil and 1 tsp. of the vinegar. This is a great fall salad when all different varieties of apples are plentiful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I read the reviews before starting and decided to make the dressing as stated first. Upon tasting, I decided to add vegetable oil. I only had iceburg lettuce so I used that instead. I think this may have been better with a different cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Very good I added 4 TBS oil to 2 TBS vinegar for the dressing. I didn't add butter and rather heated the walnuts up in a pan then added brown sugar and pepper to carmelize them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Delicious! Made this salad for Christmas day brunch. Everyone loved it and went back for seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Not bad! My husband made it and put in too much lettuce so I couldn't get a good feel of the flavoring, but it seemed good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
The salad is wonderful, but the dressing is far too strong. Don't let that discourage you. The salad really is a treat. I make for dinner parties and everyone always loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this salad- I've made it three times this week! scaled it down to about 6 servings, used 1 honeycrisp apple and a spring mix lettuce blend. Per other reviews I added olive oil to the dressing using about a 3:1 oil:vinegar ratio. I was stunned to hear my husband exclaim "this dressing is awesome" after his first bite- he's a devoted carnivore, and salads don't typically get his seal of approval- but this one's a winner!! Thanks so much for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States