Apple Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
These not for those without a sweet tooth, but they're oh so tasty! I made about 50% more sauce than the recipe called for because I was afraid there wouldn't be enough. But next time I'll make the standard amount and will spoon it on top of the enchiladas every few minutes to help it soak in before going in the oven. I'd recommend using more apple pie filling - they seemed a little too flat once they cooked and could use a little more apple taste. But overall a fun recipe! Looking forward to making them for my husband's "fiesta" themed birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This was good. The tortillas were not tough, just crunchy, which is what I aimed for. Was delicious with the recommended ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I made this for church and everyone raved. I did cover it for the first 15 min of baking and spread a layer of cream cheese mixed with cinnamon on the tortilla before I put the apple filling on it. Will be making this again--will be terrific with ice cream or whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Mui bueno! Served this at a dinner party and everyone raved. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I made this for a potluck at work. Turned out great! Everyone LOVED them. I doubled the recipe but didn't need to double the sauce. By the time I went for dessert I almost didn't get one. I made them the next night (and put vanilla ice cream on top) for a family dinner and they were a big hit. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
So easy and so good! We made it on a ski trip when it was our turn to cook, followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out pretty and yummy! Got a lot of compliments on it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This turned out heavenly. I'm not sure why others said their sauce turned out watery with 1/2 cup of water. I think those people must have skipped the step where you let your sauce sit for 30 minutes on the enchiladas. Next time I'm going to double the sauce (1 cup sugar, 1 cup b. sugar, 1 cup water) because we loved it and there wasn't enough to go around! Also, we baked it for 35 minutes to get the outside good and golden brown. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUPYCAKESMURF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Wow, what a fast any easy dessert that turned out great. If your in a pinch and have ingredients on hand this is well worth it. I didn't have vanilla ice cream in the freezer but I will tomorrow and I can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
My 7 year old daughter made these for dessert tonight. They were wonderful. How simple but still so delicious. We topped with a premium vanilla ice cream and this complimented the dish very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
If you need a quick dessert and have the ingredients on hand this works. It is very sweet. I used wheat tortillas and a can of fried apple slices in cinnamon. I drained the apples and cut them into bite size pieces. Make sure you cover the ENTIRE enchilada with the sauce if you want a softer enchilada. The ends of the roll can get tough and chewy. Too avoid this you can use brush to sauce or just cover with foil the first 10 minutes of baking. When I made the sauce I used half of the apple juice from the can with half the amount of water to give more flavor. I did not add the cinnamon because it came in the apple filling. Served warm with vanilla ice cream. Not nearly as good cold or the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States