Apple Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Tried this recipe as written tonight for the first time. My boyfriend absolutely loved it!! THANK YOU for a simple fast dessert that was out of the norm.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Definitely has potential, but a tad too sweet for me. I made my own pie filling using 4 cups sliced Granny Smith apples, 1/2 cup sugar, 2 Tbs flour, cinnamon, and nutmeg (similar to reviewer Donna), but followed the amounts called for in the recipe, otherwise. Next time, I will reduce the amount of sauce I use - cut it down to 1/3 cup white sugar, slightly over 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1/3 cup butter, and 1/3 cup water - and see if that helps. If you have a strong sweet tooth, however, this is a great recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I was very pleasantly surprised at how good this came out! I did make a few changes though. Since I have about 50lbs of apples sitting on my table, I used fresh apples and mixed them with cinnamon and a bit of Mace (Allspice would also work). I then added about 1/2 cup of diced cold Brie to the apple mixture and 1 cup of dried cranberries soaked in water. Since I used rice tortillas, they were not as flexible as wheat so I made mine more like a lazagna-style instead of wrapping. Also, for the sauce, I didnt have enough brown sugar so I used a small amount of molasses. If you do this, it makes it REALLY rich so go light and save the extra to add when you serve it. I also added a mixture of cheddar and dublinger cheese on the top layer with the sauce. Bake covered as normal, and enjoy! I have extra sauce that I am going to try mixing with a Mexican mole sauce to see if I can make this more of a meal instead of a dessert. Either way, It came out REALLY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Made them as the recipe stated except didn't wait the 1/2 hour before baking. It was about 15 minutes. Still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This was something I made to use up some tortillas. We like this recipe but I think it was a little greasy for me and next time I'll cut the butter down to a 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATWEIGAND
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I'm a novice baker and found this recipe easy to follow with excellent results. I had to make it within the prescribed hour and whisk it out the door for book club. It was a crowd pleaser and I will certainly make it again. To avoid the tough ends I brushed the sauce during the baking process several times. I added vanilla extract and nutmeg for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This is absolutely fabulous - so easy! Took to a brunch yesterday and everyone thought that I had peeled and diced the apples myself - This one thing I did different - after I scraped the apple filling from the can, I took a sharp knife and sliced thru the apple slices until they were small chunks and then did the rest of the recipe as was written. However, I was able to do 8 Enchiladas instead of one - Thanks for making me a hit at our brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is so good. I've tried it with other pie fillings. Peach is also delicious. Strawberry was o.k., but a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Very easy and good, but they seemed to get soggy really quickly. Next time I'll bake them longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Easy and the kids loved it. With a Mexican menu, worked out great with ice cream. Added clove and nutmeg to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States