Apple Enchilada Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Before I made this dessert I read practically every review written and therefore, made the following changes: used 2 cans of apple pie filling mixed with 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg, whipped 8 oz of reduced-fat cream cheese with 1/2 cup powdered sugar and 1/4 tsp. cinnamon the mixed with the apple pie filling mixture (which I coarsely chopped with a knife and fork), reduced the water to 1/3 cup, added 1 Tbsp. cornstarch to the sauce along with 1/2 tsp. vanilla. I use five tortillas (that's how many mouths I'm feeding) and put the extra filling on top of the enchiladas. I found that even though the sauce looks thin after 3 minutes of cooking it thickens quickly as it sits. I usually put this together ahead of time in a 12x8" rectangular baking dish (and it just barely fits) and about 1 hour before time for dessert (my family likes to wait a little while after dinner) I pop it into the oven at 400 degrees for 40 minutes on the top rack. The result is a a thick sweet sauce and yummy crepe-like apple-filled dessert. Make sure to serve warm with vanilla ice cream it really complements this dessert. Anyway thanks for posting:) I've made this twice already and even with my changes it's incredibly easy to make and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
640 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
A-MAZING dessert!! I made it for my inlaws and they love love loved it!!! The only difference i made was: adding a mixture of cream cheese and sugar into the middle of the tortilla before the apples. When we tried it, the cream cheese in it was soooooooo delicous! ive made it WITH and WITHOUT the cream cheese mixture, and its way better with it!! Also make sure to cook the enchiladas for a little longer than usual so that it gets a crispier crust. I highly recommend this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I have used this recipe several times and love how quick and easy it is. I can put them in the oven just before we start eating dinner and desert is ready when we are. I have made it with both canned and fresh apples. Fresh apples are much better. I just sliced 4 small granny smith apples into small chunks and mixed them with 1/2 cup of sugar and a tablespoon of flour. Divide the apples between 5 tortillas and sprinkle with cinnamon before rolling them up. I also make this recipe with 1/3 cup of water and bake them at 350 for 40 minutes. The tortillas get nice and crunchy on top. They are great hot out of the oven with ice cream. We even love them the next day even though the tortillas get a little soggy on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Outstanding! These enchiladas were absolutely incredible. On the advice of other reviewers, I made my own filling (4 apples, 1/2c sugar, 1T flour, 1 tsp cinnamon), reduced the water for the syrup to 1/3 cup, and baked at 375 for 30 minutes. It was delicious! Next time I will reduce the sugars to 1/3 cup each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Very good recipe! Only problems that I had were: Overall, a few guests mentioned that it was a bit too sweet. I guess I'll lower down on the sugar next time! TO FACILITATE THE FLOUR TORTILLA PROCESS, I microwaved my tortillas for about 8 seconds each. It made it a lot easier to handle. Overall, WONDERFUL WONDERFUL RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This was wonderful. Made it for a dinner party and served it warm with vanilla ice cream. Delicious! And leftovers were just as good the next night. To keep the sauce from separating on standing, boil it longer than 3 minutes. Turn off the heat only after everything has obviously melded and your sugars have broken down. I made the sauce early in the day and re-heated just before popping in the oven. I also prepared my enchiladas early in the day and then lay a damp paper towel over top (to keep the tortillas from drying out) and covered with saran wrap. I also baked for at least 40 minutes until they were nice and crispy. This definitely tastes and presents like it is more work than it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
This was great! I made it for a mexican-themed pot luck, and everyone raved about how good it was. I didn't tell them it was the easiest thing I brought! I made the syrup the night before, and per other reviews, reduced the water to 1/3 cup. The morning of, I rolled the tortillas, and when we got there I simply poured the cooled (and now thickened) syrup over, baked as directed, and enjoyed! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Absolutely wonderful!!! I took the advice from the other reviewers about the filling being bland, so I seasoned the canned apple filling with cinnamon, nutmeg, and butter, and it turned out great. Like others, I also baked it with pecans on top, and used corn shells for some of them, as I ran out of flour shells. The corn shells didn't taste as well as the flour, but it was still ok. The only problem is that it was a little sweet, so next time I will use less sugar for the syrup that goes over the desert. The flour tortillas didn't even taste like tortilla, but more like a crepe. We had a Mexican fiesta, and everyone raved about it. I have more flour tortilla shells, and apple filling, so I will make it again next week. Thanks ReDonna for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
absolutely delicious! i used a little more than half the brown sugar, and half the white sugar and water. my sauce came out quite thick and caramely! wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
For those who find this dessert a bit too runny...try adding about a tablespoon of cornstarch to the water. I also made my own apple pie filling and added whipping cream to it. This turned out really good. It made enought to feed Custer's army, but every bite was gone. Tastes even better when you throw in a handful of walnuts. Thanks ReDonna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States