Apple Enchilada Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Good, very sticky. Next time I will put down foil to help with the stickiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Very good. Instead of commercial pie filling I used Apple Pie Filling II on allrecipes. Added a couple teaspoons of cream cheese/powered sugar mix along center of tortilla before filling, and (figuring it already had enough sugar) only made about 1/2 of the sauce. Served warm with vanilla ice cream it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This recipe had potential, but the sauce was a negative. It was very thin and watery on the stove, even though I cut the water to 1/3 cup, however, after being in the oven 40 mins (based on many reviews from others), it was so hard and sticky that it could have easily yanked a filling or two out! If I ever make again, bring sauce to a slow, low boil rather than fast. I added cornstarch to thicken it as I was cooking, but now I wonder if that's what made it too hard upon baking. The apple filling was delicious! I followed reviewers' advice and mixed the apple w/ 1tsp cinn. and 1/2 tsp nutmeg with 8oz cream cheese and 1/2c powdered sugar whipped in w/ my mixer. The flour tortilla was delicious too. This would have been amazing if the sauce had turned out right, but it may have been my error. I mentioned my changes and possible mistakes to help others avoid them. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
made this with blueberry pie filling and add fresh blackberries, strawberries and raspberries!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Made this with philo dough...it was to die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Flavour was good (with the cream cheese added) but not a fan of the tortilla shell. Will try with puff pasty or philo next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
DELICIOUS!!!! I added raisins and put it under the broiler for about 3 minutes after cooking to give it a crispy crust. YUM! I will definitely be making this again! My mom gave it her stamp of approval too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
THESE WERE FANTASTIC & SO VERY EASY! Needed a mexican type dessert for a 4th grade Mexican themed event at school for my son. He and I prepped these the night before school. In the morning we baked them for about 30-35 minutes (our preference) to have them warm upon arrival at school. This dessert was a hit with the children and teachers. WE WILL CERTAINLY BE MAKING THEM AGAIN!!! Note- I pretty much followed the recipe but also as other reviewers have advised also tweaked it by using 2 cans of apple filling instead of one, spreading a little cream cheese on the flour tortilla before adding the apple filling. Also added a bit of vanilla to the apple filling. Right before baking drizzed both the sauce and a tiny bit of carmel topping! Really delicious and the family wants these on the 4th of July using some real apples and French Vanilla ice cream. I'm all for it because I can prepare this ahead of time and bake! ENJOY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I made these for my husband who isn't a big dessert person and we LOVED them! I added cream cheese with a little bit of oj, powdered sugar, cinnamon, and walnuts. It was delicious. I put it in the oven for about 45 min for a little extra crunch. I added walnuts on top and used cinnamon sugar tortillas. He kept saying that it tasted like something from Chili's! Make sure you serve with ice cream. Amazing and so easy to make. Love It!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I made this recipe last night for a girls dinner. It was by far the easiest recipe dessert I've ever made. I followed the directions, only change I made was I used 3 10 inch tortillas in a 8x8 baking dish. I would also recommend cooking a little longer, maybe 25 minutes. Overall very yummy! Be sure to serve with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States