Apple Enchilada Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Good flavor! I did make several changes that previous reviewers suggested. I used homemade apple filling using 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and 1 tsp cinnamon, and mixed it with 1 cup of softened cream cheese that was combined with 1/4 cup of white sugar. For the sauce I used butter (we don't like margarine), the two sugars, 1 Tbsp cornstarch, 1/3 cup water, and a 1/2 tsp of vanilla to finish off after the syrup was cooked. Baked it all for 40 minutes at 400 degrees F. The tortillas were a little chewy but the flavor was yummy! I'm going to try this again next week but try using the baking temperature and time originally suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Very easy to make and delicious. For fear of it being too sweet, I used slightly less than 1/2 cup of white sugar and brown sugar each and also less water so that it isn't too watery. I also used 2 cans of apple pie filling for 6 flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I made this using blueberry pie filling and the cream cheese mixture as suggested in some of the reviews. This was an awesome recipe. My husband raved about it. Took this to a family breakfast and everyone wanted the recipe. It was quick and easy to prepare. I did let it bake longer to make it crisper, about 10 to 15 min longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Very good. I made this for a mexican dinner we were having at work. I was worried about it being a little bland, so I beat two cream cheese with 3/4 cup sugar and tsp of vanilla. I then stirred in the apple pie filling and filled with that. I ended up making two large ones for work and used cherry pie filling for one and did the same thing with the cream cheese. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I made this by adding the cream cheese mix other users made. WONDERFUL! We will be making this again!! Wonderful with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Came out very watered down. But still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This is a great little treat! As good as the sandwich maker pies we ate when I was a kid. Versatile, Yummy, and fun for the kids to help make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imigin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
It was a good dessert and very easy to put together with very few ingredients. You really need to serve with vanilla ice cream. I think a tad of cream cheese rolled in the tortilla with the apples would be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
So yummy!! Used fresh apples :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I made my own apple pie filling from this site and it was wonderful too. Made these apple enchillada for my family to go with my own chicken enchilladas recipe. They turned out great! I didn't use the cream cheese as so many others did as the chicken enchilladas are so rich. The family loved these will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loydafr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Sturgis, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States