Apple Dumplings with Rich Cinnamon Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Yummy! used light brown sugar but still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Excellent recipe. I used my standard pie crust recipe and granny smith apples and it turned out great. The sauce is incredible and I hope others do not miss out on enjoying this amazingly easy sauce. I love apple pie, but this beats it. It also reheats well the next day in the microwave for about a minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
These were great, made according to recipe.Next time I may add a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I'm making these now, and as I peeked in the oven to check on them, a few of the dumpling's filling spilled out onto the pan. I'm sure it will be a messy goodness, but not what I expected. I followed the recipe exactly, sealing with egg white, and the mess is spilling from the bottom. I don't know what would be the cause, but maybe when I try again it will be all in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantallywallywoohoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA
Living In: Randleman, North Carolina, USA
Photo by autumnrose
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was the easiest apple dumpling recipe I have ever tried.I didn't change anything in the recipe except it was hot and we were short on time so I used Hershey's caramel syrup instead of standing over the hot saucepan to make my own.It was great as it was so I can't wait to try it with the homemade sauce.I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estherville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was pretty easy to make even though it looks like it would take you hours. I ran into the same problem as SunnyByrd, I struggled to fit my apples on my pastry dough so I was forced to wrap them a little tighter than I would have wanted to. Mine blew open a little bit while they were baking but nothing major. My kids helped make these with me , so it's kid friendly. I peeled the apples and they stuffed them. I didn't cut the bottoms and they did waddle a little bit. Next time I'll cut the bottoms so that they sit better and I will use 3 apple halves to 1 sheet of pie crust pastry so that they aren't so tightly wrapped. I used Granny Smith apples and I'm so glad I did. They held up really well and the tartness of the apples countered any of the super sweetness of this yummy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Very easy to throw together. Made according to the instructions and came out wonderfully. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Very good! I think the dough/apple ratio is a little off in this recipe. One pie crust BARELY did four apple halves at my house. Also, be sure not to wrap your apples too tightly (like I did) because the apples will blow a little when they cook. The cinnamon sauce was perfect for me, not too icky-sweet. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This was really good, but it was a lot of work and the end result didn't WOW me like I would have hoped for the effort. Don't get me wrong, it was yummy, but if I'm going to make such a mess for a recipe, my expectations get WAY up there, and this just didn't make me wanna get up and dance or anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This recipe is outstanding. I've made it 4x's and each time it gets better. These dumplings are so much better than the State Fair's. I would reccommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States