Apple Dumplings with Rich Cinnamon Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I haven't reviewed anything before--I usually just lurk about the site and snatch a recipe here and there from time to time--but this recipe has become one of my all time favorites after making it several times and I feel it deserves a good review. Everyone who tries them loves them and they always come out so good. I do things a little differently for my preferences, and I'll share those things, but for the most part I stick to this recipe and it's been gold. For one, I don't use whole apple halves. I prefer a smaller dumpling, made with small chopped pieces of apple instead a large slice. I think it makes it more pleasant for eating and helps the sugar, cinnamon and butter mix more evenly (which I just put a spoonful of on top of the apple pieces before wrapping the dumpling up). I strongly recommenced a flavorful, sweet-tart apple for baking, also. Otherwise, it comes out kind of bland and so-so. My grandmother's Jonathan apple tree always makes the best baking apples. For two, I love to make my own butter crust, because it's so simple and always comes out just right--store bought crusts never do it for me. I'm sure there's one out there I don't know about that comes out perfect, golden and flaky, too. But I love a homemade crust. Other than that, and a little extra cinnamon everywhere and some vanilla in the sauce, I don't change anything. And this recipe always comes out perfect, every time, like magic, and ready to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I generally like Pam Anderson's recipes (I have one of her cookbooks and have liked every dish I've tried from it), but this was just so-so for me. Luckily my mom and dad LOVED this, so I at least feel good about that. :) If given the choice, I'd much rather have apple pie - simple, basic apple pie just tastes better (and is MUCH easier to assemble), IMHO. The second turnoff for me was the addition of nuts in this. I did not care for them at all. They kinda seemed out of place (but that's just my $.02). The biggest letdown for me was the sauce. It simply lacked oomph. The sauce tasted bland and was oddly thick, but not in a sticky or syrupy sort of way (if that makes any sense). Don't get me wrong. This wasn't terrible. It just wasn't for me. Better luck for everyone else, I guess. Thanks anyways, Pam! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I just made these and I can tell you, they were easy and I enjoyed them much more than apple pie! I give them 5 stars. I used a 3" deep cast iron skillet and covered it with the cast iron lid that goes with it as I do not own a parchment covered dish.I also baked it at 390 the entire time as my oven digital number 4 doesn't work, needless to say they turned out awesome! I used my own butter pie crust recipe too as it really isn't much faster having ready made not to mention, homeade doesn't have any preservatives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Very nice but we had to double the sauce! I sealed my dumplings with water instead of eggwhites and only had one that spilled out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Made this recipe tonight and followed it exactly and it is AMAZING... only thing different was I put toothpicks in the top of it so they would stay together. Some of them did end up exploding out of the sides but as I always say, the messier the food is, the better it will taste. Definitely will make this again! And the cinnamon sauce is just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Awesome! I made a mistake and mixed all the butter, sugar & nuts together and put them in the shell with the apple. I cooked it and served it without the sauce 'cause I didnt need any more calories. Even better the next day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Yummy! Didn't need to change a thing. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alley
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
10 STARS! Followed recipe exactly, using Granny Smith Apples. Garnished with walnuts with a small side scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
don't forget to peel apples! half apple per dumpling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States