Apple Dumplings with Rich Cinnamon Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Oh yes!! I have found THE best apple dumplin' recipe ever!! So worth the wait but it is not hard to make! Only thing I did different was I didn't have the packaged pie crusts I used instead the recipe for 'The Best Pie Crust' (and it is!) and put it in a freezer bag in the freezer for only half an hour. Rolled out great! You MUST try this recipe it IS a must!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Easy, delicious and better than apple pie. The cinnamon sauce was perfect and by the taste and appearance it looks like you speny hours making it! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
These were so yummy! I made them last night for my small group and one of my friends who is a health-obsessed dr. actually ate one and was licking his plate by the time he was done, lol! I did make a few changes: Okay-here are the things I changed for the recipe-I doubled it to make 16 servings (8 apples), I used the big ones you buy in bulk but if you bought the smaller ones I think you could probably use a whole apple for this-I used granny smith. Also, I cut them in half horizontally then cored then and stuffed the filling inside that way-it was really easy and I didn't have to cut anything off the bottom because I just laid them on their flat sides. I put them on the crust and then I stuffed them so as not to make a huge mess trying to get them onto the crust. I doubled the filling and it used every bit so you could even do more and just pile it in the crust for more of that part-which was the best part, I thought! I made my own crust-way better in my opinion. Also we used 350-I had taken them to my friends house and wanted them to be hot so I baked them there but left the recipe at home so I wasn't sure on the temperature-I did the 425 for 10 minutes and then 350 for 20 minutes- but I thought they were done enough-I had eight of them on a pampered chef stone and 8 on a metal air bake cookie sheet. The ones on the stone turned out even better so I would probably use that again or if you used a metal dish or baking sheet, maybe reduce the cooking time. The ones on the met
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaEpsteen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Great recipe. Definitely use small apples though, wrapping them was a bit difficult. Not impossible, just difficult. I sliced mine in half horizontally instead of vertically which made them stand up nice and straight with no problem. Also gave me a nice well to put filling in without any fuss. I used pecans instead of walnuts, then toasted some peacans to add to my sauce - just because I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
These were absolutely delicious, and the sauce was so fast and easy to prepare. I made half with Gala and half with Granny Smith, and the tartness of the Granny's was far better. It balanced the sweetness of the rest of the ingredients. I served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream--pure bliss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Mmmm-mm! Yummy recipe. My husband even really liked these and he's usually a chocolate only kinda guy. I do want to note, since I was stumped on this for awhile, that the apples need to be sliced horizontally for it all to make sense. You're essentially stuffing the core of the halved apple with yumminess. I also cut the water to 1/2 cup on hearing the sauce was a bit watery. Excellent dumpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Governors Bay, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I used the method for making the dumplings of enclosing the apple 1/4's in crescent rolls with this sauce. This will definately be my 'go to' sauce for dumplings in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Very good. Omitted the nuts (due to allergy). Poured syrup over the dumpling in a bowl and made homemade pie crust recipe. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I love Pam Anderson's recipes and this one does not disappoint! I don't even like apples and this is one of my new favorite desserts. Certainly I would like about 1/3 more pie crust. I used a 15 ounce (2 sheets) pie crust and it was stretched thin in some places, thin enough that when I tried to move the dumplings to a serving dish, some of them "ripped" and fell apart. Of course, homemade crust is always going to be better if you have the time. Also, I used buttered foil and my dumplings still stuck to the bottom of the dish so you might want to cook them in the serving dish or use the parchment. If you want a richer caramel cinnamon sauce, omit 1/2 cup of the water and replace with heavy cream. It takes the sauce from great to unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Turned out beautifully, and was pretty easy to make.I did end up making my own crusts though as my local store does not carry ready made pie sheets.The sauce in my opinion could have been slightly thicker, but the dumplings were still a big hit.I put home made vanilla icecream on the side to finish it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States