Apple Dumplings with Rich Cinnamon Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
These apple dumplings came out excellent. The first time I make a recipe, I like to make it exactly as specified, without any changes so that I can give it a fair review. The only change I might make next time would be to leave out the nuts because my son does not like them. I think this recipe would be just as good with or without the pecans. At first, I thought the sauce wasn't going to be sweet enough but when added to the dumpling it is just right. If I had added sugar it would have been way to sweet. My husband said this is one of the best desserts he has ever had and that it was better then any restaurant. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This is amazing! I've made this recipe two days in a row because they went so fast - I served it in cute little dishes with ice cream and instead of making the sauce I bought caramel sauce - for anyone who makes this - follow this recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
The sauce is excellent and family thought I had spent hours making it. Of all the apple dumplings I have made over the years, this is the best and will stay in my recipe box for many years ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was awesome! I added a few fresh blackberries that needed to be used, and they just melted in wonderfully! I may have cooked a little long because the sauce caramelized on the outside a little to much, but my fiance thought it only added to the overall dish. I WILL be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Anderson Kuhn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Let me tell you, this recipe is a **winner**. I'm from Ohio and there is a meat market where you can purchase the frozen dumplings and sauce to make at home and when my parents fly here (California) they bring them with...several packs because I've never seen a recipe that duplicates them. This is it. Thank you, thank you, thank you! I feel like this is a taste of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alta Loma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was fantastic. The only thing I took out was the nuts. My kids said it looked and tasted like an Iron Chef dish. So thanks for making me look good!! Will be in my family for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athienna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
AWESOME recipe! I used red delicious apples and they were a little too big...so next time I will get smaller apples...but no one is complaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Excellent recipe. Pennsylvania Dutch cook here and these were great and just what I was looking for. Just the right combination of spices and flavor to make them terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Very good. Omitted the nuts (due to allergy). Poured syrup over the dumpling in a bowl and made homemade pie crust recipe. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I thought this was very good. I shared the dumplings with several people and they all agreed that they were good. My apple were so big I had to double the crust. Ended up with 16 dumplings. The sauce made the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States