Apple Dumplings with Rich Cinnamon Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This is tasty and easy! I doubled the amount of nuts cuz I LOVE 'em. Other than that I followed the recipe to a T and it turned out fantastic! Yum Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This was great. I omitted the nuts. And I didnt make the sauce. I had them fresh out of the oven with vanilla icecream. Heaven I tell ya!! I will be making these for Thanksgiving rather than making an apple pie. thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ?momma3?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Mmmm-mm! Yummy recipe. My husband even really liked these and he's usually a chocolate only kinda guy. I do want to note, since I was stumped on this for awhile, that the apples need to be sliced horizontally for it all to make sense. You're essentially stuffing the core of the halved apple with yumminess. I also cut the water to 1/2 cup on hearing the sauce was a bit watery. Excellent dumpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Governors Bay, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This recipe was very good and quite easy to make and even though I liked the sauce, I felt it was missing....something. I thought maybe it wasn't thick enough so I added a little more cornstarch which didn't fix things. I did not slice the apples in half- instead I cored them and left them whole and it worked well. I used more nuts, about 1/2 cup, and 5 tablespoons of butter for the center of the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilli Kroes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Excellent! For the taste, it is really an easy recipe to put together. I did double the amount of filling though and heaped it into the apple, on top and let it spill over a little into the crust. The sauce was good but I like to melt real caramel down with cream to put over top. My husband said this was "outstanding" and that's a hard compliment to come by from him. **Update** I made this again and used light brown sugar instead of dark...I don't recommend doing that. It was good but not as rich in flavor as it was with the dark brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I used a 9x13 pan to bake 4 apples and it affected the baking. Thirty minutes total time was not enough to soften the small Acey Mac apples I used. (It DOES tell you to use a 18x12 pan, but I didn't have that size.) Despite that, I think the sugar/butter/cinnamon was just the right amount of flavor. I made my own dough, eliminated the nuts, and didn't bother with the sauce. I like the taste of the apples to dominate instead and they are definately delicious enough without the sauce. I will definately try this recipe again. Just don't make them in a 9x13 cake pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking with Kel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
SO YUMMY! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out so great! Everyone loved it! I make it at least once a week now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samiecake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
These were really good and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
These apple dumplings came out excellent. The first time I make a recipe, I like to make it exactly as specified, without any changes so that I can give it a fair review. The only change I might make next time would be to leave out the nuts because my son does not like them. I think this recipe would be just as good with or without the pecans. At first, I thought the sauce wasn't going to be sweet enough but when added to the dumpling it is just right. If I had added sugar it would have been way to sweet. My husband said this is one of the best desserts he has ever had and that it was better then any restaurant. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States