Apple Dumplings with Rich Cinnamon Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
So easy to make and delicious. I used 1 apple and 1 pack of crescent rolls. I cut down on the butter by 2 tablespoons and I used a combo of white sugar and brown sugar with vanilla and cinnamon. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Holy cow this recipe is amazing! Smells great while they cook and tastes even better! Definitely a little more flavorful than your typical apple dumpling recipe! I made my own pie crusts and I highly suggest making your own since it will probably come out flakier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
OMG, these are amazing! I don't like crust on pies, I usually just eat the filling, but the crust so works with this! Use Granny Smith apples for sure. Follow the recipe exactly, it's perfect. And it was very easy to make-this coming from someone who does not like to bake. My step-son called me, after coming over just to get leftovers, about how amazing these are. Do you know how rare that is?!? LOL Fiance loved them as well, they were the "best apple dumplings he's ever had." You have to try this recipe, period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I love Pam Anderson's recipes and this one does not disappoint! I don't even like apples and this is one of my new favorite desserts. Certainly I would like about 1/3 more pie crust. I used a 15 ounce (2 sheets) pie crust and it was stretched thin in some places, thin enough that when I tried to move the dumplings to a serving dish, some of them "ripped" and fell apart. Of course, homemade crust is always going to be better if you have the time. Also, I used buttered foil and my dumplings still stuck to the bottom of the dish so you might want to cook them in the serving dish or use the parchment. If you want a richer caramel cinnamon sauce, omit 1/2 cup of the water and replace with heavy cream. It takes the sauce from great to unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe. I had never made dumplings before but my husband wanted some so I searched for a simpler recipe than the one my mother had. This recipe is easy and oh so good. The whole pan was gone in about an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Something so very simple, and yet delicious and great for company. Slice apples horizontally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sagewood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rogue River, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
My family loved these and the ingredients and prep was simple. Need to go light on the syrup or it may be to sweet. I didn't sprinkle sugar on top before baking and it was plenty sweet. I used refrigerated pie crusts and had a hard time tring to wrap the apples. I even used small apples. Not able to form squares from the round crusts. Maybe if I make the crust from scratch it will be easier and maybe more attractive. There were some pictures of some nice looking dumplings on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bzymom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I made these apple dumplings for my family and they loved them, this recipe is easy and very good, I followed the recipe and instructions step by step and didn't have any problems. Will make this recipe again !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
If you are an apple lover, this recipe is for you. This was just the best dessert we added some vanilla ice cream and put the sauce over it. wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
These were delicious! Deceptively simple, too, although mine weren't picture-perfect. I'll blame that on the three year-old rolling the dough. This will become a new go-to dessert recipe in my house! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Renick, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States