Apple Dumplings with Rich Cinnamon Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I haven't reviewed anything before--I usually just lurk about the site and snatch a recipe here and there from time to time--but this recipe has become one of my all time favorites after making it several times and I feel it deserves a good review. Everyone who tries them loves them and they always come out so good. I do things a little differently for my preferences, and I'll share those things, but for the most part I stick to this recipe and it's been gold. For one, I don't use whole apple halves. I prefer a smaller dumpling, made with small chopped pieces of apple instead a large slice. I think it makes it more pleasant for eating and helps the sugar, cinnamon and butter mix more evenly (which I just put a spoonful of on top of the apple pieces before wrapping the dumpling up). I strongly recommenced a flavorful, sweet-tart apple for baking, also. Otherwise, it comes out kind of bland and so-so. My grandmother's Jonathan apple tree always makes the best baking apples. For two, I love to make my own butter crust, because it's so simple and always comes out just right--store bought crusts never do it for me. I'm sure there's one out there I don't know about that comes out perfect, golden and flaky, too. But I love a homemade crust. Other than that, and a little extra cinnamon everywhere and some vanilla in the sauce, I don't change anything. And this recipe always comes out perfect, every time, like magic, and ready to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I generally like Pam Anderson's recipes (I have one of her cookbooks and have liked every dish I've tried from it), but this was just so-so for me. Luckily my mom and dad LOVED this, so I at least feel good about that. :) If given the choice, I'd much rather have apple pie - simple, basic apple pie just tastes better (and is MUCH easier to assemble), IMHO. The second turnoff for me was the addition of nuts in this. I did not care for them at all. They kinda seemed out of place (but that's just my $.02). The biggest letdown for me was the sauce. It simply lacked oomph. The sauce tasted bland and was oddly thick, but not in a sticky or syrupy sort of way (if that makes any sense). Don't get me wrong. This wasn't terrible. It just wasn't for me. Better luck for everyone else, I guess. Thanks anyways, Pam! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I just made these and I can tell you, they were easy and I enjoyed them much more than apple pie! I give them 5 stars. I used a 3" deep cast iron skillet and covered it with the cast iron lid that goes with it as I do not own a parchment covered dish.I also baked it at 390 the entire time as my oven digital number 4 doesn't work, needless to say they turned out awesome! I used my own butter pie crust recipe too as it really isn't much faster having ready made not to mention, homeade doesn't have any preservatives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy Vidt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Very nice but we had to double the sauce! I sealed my dumplings with water instead of eggwhites and only had one that spilled out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Made this recipe tonight and followed it exactly and it is AMAZING... only thing different was I put toothpicks in the top of it so they would stay together. Some of them did end up exploding out of the sides but as I always say, the messier the food is, the better it will taste. Definitely will make this again! And the cinnamon sauce is just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Awesome! I made a mistake and mixed all the butter, sugar & nuts together and put them in the shell with the apple. I cooked it and served it without the sauce 'cause I didnt need any more calories. Even better the next day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Yummy! Didn't need to change a thing. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alley
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
10 STARS! Followed recipe exactly, using Granny Smith Apples. Garnished with walnuts with a small side scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
don't forget to peel apples! half apple per dumpling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States