Apple Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Yummy! I made this following the directions to a T. I however thought it needed some improvements. So the second time I made it I made some changes. The pastry to me was a pain to roll and once it was baked wasn't quiet what I expected it to be. I used half butter and half shortening for the pastry and then stuck it in the fridge for about an hour. This one step made such a difference! I cut the apples into chunks and cooked them until just tender with water, sugar and cinnamon. I cooled them before using them. Oh and I made more of the sauce because there wasn't enough for everyone to pour a little over the dumpling and icecream. Anyhow, I thought this recipe was worth tinkering with so thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessay3

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I thought these turned out great. I had some trouble rolling out the pastry but that could have just been me seeing as I'm new to this. But these tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Simply delicious!!! And the easiest pie crust I've ever made. I substituted I Can't Believe It's Not Butter for butter and used this and Canola Oil in place of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Not too crazy about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maribel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raymondville, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
These were awesome!! They are as good as the local county fair (and that is saying a LOT). The only thing that would make them better is making the pastry myself (I cheated by using pre-made pie crusts... not good with pastry). Love the syrup topping. The second time around I halved the apples/pastry to make smaller servings; this worked just fine and the still came out perfect. Thanks for the great recipe... I never knew apple dumplings could be this easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Marion Heights, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe. I didn't change a thing. They came out perfect! Super easy too! I'm going to try this same recipe, but use pears instead. I'll use green food coloring to match. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I had some leftovr apples I wanted to do something with before they went bad, and this was a great recipe. The dough was a little difficult to work with and I may try some changes with it in the future but the Dumplings were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Oh man. These were yummy. Used 1 & 1/2 times the dough, and cut 4 large apples in half to make 8 dumplings. Omitted the food coloring. These were oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Great Grandma gave me a list of ingredients for her recipe but no directions. I guess she assumed I KNOW something about baking. This recipe helped me recreate great grandma's dumplings and my husband and kids couldn't be happier since great grandma has given up baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
These were delicious and turned out great. The only time-consuming part is peeling and coring the apples. But it was well worth it. My husband was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States