Apple Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Very yummy! Loved this recipe! Can't wait to do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Ging

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This recipe was great and my family loved it!! the only change i did was cut up the apple into small pieces because i didnt want that big apple in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIBEL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I didn't use any nutmeg, butter with the apples or the red food coloring. I added 1/2 tsp vanilla to the syrup and used ice water in place of the milk. I doubled the recipe and made tweleve dumplings with 3 apple slices, 1 tbsp of the sugar mix, and a caramel in each. They were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is the recipe from Better Homes and Gardens original cookbook. My Mom made these while I was growing up and now I make them and so does my daughter. Best recipe for Apple dumplings but I've also used the very same recipe and used fresh peaches. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
The pastry was good but I wasn't impressed with anything else. I didn't feel that I really had enough dough to work with which ended up making the fillings overflow in the oven and made my entire house fill wtih smoke. The filling was not sweet enough and overall didn't have a very good flavor. The syrup was also much too runny. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is what I did: Made the dough the night before, cut into 6 squares, layered them between layers of parchment paper, refrigerated overnight. Took them out of the fridge about 20 min before using. The next day, I made the sauce (Using Margarine, instead of Butter...and No Food Colouring), then I made the apples, using margarine instead of butter. Delicious Recipe!! Tip: I had a hard time getting my dough to be 12x18, so I rolled it as big as I was comfortable with, then I cut it into 6 squares. Then, I rolled each square out 1 at a time, and made them as big as I could. Much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetChelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I've tried SEVERAL apple dumpling recipes and this is the keeper. So delicious and so easy!! I had some store-bought refrigerated pie crusts on hand, so I used those instead of making my own crust, but next time I do want to try this crust recipe. It looks so easy. These dumplings are loaded with flavor. Coating the apples with the dry cinnamon mixture is key. It sticks to the apple. (Other recipes have you pour a syrup on the apple, which basically runs down and sits at the bottom.) I did made the mistake of only using half of the syrup to pour over the dumplings, thinking that it would make the crust soggy, but the syrup actually carmelized during baking, so I used that to drizzle over the ice cream that I topped the dumpling with. Soooo good. Next time I'll utilize all the syrup to have more for drizzling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
these were a HUGE hit with my in-laws and friends! used pillsbury premade crust, cut each in half and rolled into a square for each apple. didn't use food coloring and added a little brown sugar for the glaze. i basted them throughout the baking and before re-heating after dinner. they were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateroo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was delicious! Nice balance of apple taste, spices and sauce. The changes I made were: Didn't use red food coloring, substituted 6 layers filo dough unbuttered per dumpling for the pastry, 1/2 of a Braeburn apple instead of a whole apple. Next time I would like to try the pastry, but last night I was determined to make them like The Machine Shed's. It came out pretty darned close. We poured some of the baked sauce over the dumpling before serving as well. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. The Granny Smith apples I had were large enough that I just cut them in half instead of using a whole apple. I skipped the butter in each dumpling. Baked for 45 minutes & they were perfect. Great flavor. Tart yet sweet. Nice crust. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States