Apple Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
Yummy....I diced my apples and mixed the spices with them before placing in the dough, more like little turnovers. I also made a brown sugar/vanilla sauce using 1 c water, 1 c brown sugar, 1-2 tsps vanilla, and 3 tbsp butter. I simmered the sauce until it boiled down a bit to thicken, and ladled it over the hot dumplings before serving. Top with vanilla ice cream and voila! Note that dumplings are best when eaten straight from oven..they get a bit soggy if stored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe! It tastes professional :) Thank you very much for sharing it! I made the mistake of rolling out the dough on floured aluminum foil which made it difficult to lift up and just gather (i.e. the dough got stuck to the foil). So, using a baking sheet as the directions say is best. Also, I think that the syrup is on the sweet side but it tastes perfect when eaten with the apple and the dough :) I can see vanilla ice cream topping off this dumpling perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
Wow the dough was awesome. Good flavour. They turned out great! I should have added raisons Will Make Again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This was amazing, a huge success for me! I used half apples and cut the pastry into eight, worked very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Very yummy! I used some pastry that I had made previously and frozen. The sauce is delicious. This tastes heavenly with some whipped cream! Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This is excellent! I packed my apples into a oval corning ware dish. The sides of each apple almost touching. Then I poured the syrup over them and in between the cracks. This made them very syrupy and gooey. Yummy. One of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
These are sooo wonderful. I suppose I'm a little biased because I love apple dumplings, but these are a lot better than some of the stuff I've tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
I loved these! i use this dough for apple pie and it's great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Reminds me of grandmas apple dumplings! Dough came out perfect and the syrup was very easy. I will be making more of these in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenn Hoss Ellis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States