Apple Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
Loved the recipe, cut the apple ingredients in half and kept the dough as it was, then sliced the apples into quarters, making smaller dumplings and served it with ice cream. Everyone seemed to like this better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Reminds me of grandmas apple dumplings! Dough came out perfect and the syrup was very easy. I will be making more of these in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
I loved these! i use this dough for apple pie and it's great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2001
This was the best apple dumpling recipe I have tried. The dough was the easiest and the most successful for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
Delish, my family loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
This was very close to the one that my grandmother and mother used to make out of the Betty Crocker cookbook, but more complicated. Didn't use the food coloring. Tasty! Very good on a crisp autumn afternoon. The pastry works well for apple pie too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe! It tastes professional :) Thank you very much for sharing it! I made the mistake of rolling out the dough on floured aluminum foil which made it difficult to lift up and just gather (i.e. the dough got stuck to the foil). So, using a baking sheet as the directions say is best. Also, I think that the syrup is on the sweet side but it tastes perfect when eaten with the apple and the dough :) I can see vanilla ice cream topping off this dumpling perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I reallly liked this recipe. I made some minimal changes. I used puff pasty (it was yummy!). I sliced the apples rather than using a whole one. Iused more brown sugar, and less white. I also put the cinnamon, sugar, etc., into a baggie and coated the apples before baking. They were delicious and so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is what I did: Made the dough the night before, cut into 6 squares, layered them between layers of parchment paper, refrigerated overnight. Took them out of the fridge about 20 min before using. The next day, I made the sauce (Using Margarine, instead of Butter...and No Food Colouring), then I made the apples, using margarine instead of butter. Delicious Recipe!! Tip: I had a hard time getting my dough to be 12x18, so I rolled it as big as I was comfortable with, then I cut it into 6 squares. Then, I rolled each square out 1 at a time, and made them as big as I could. Much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetChelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States