Apple Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
These dumplings were fabulous!!! I have made apple dumplings before, but this recipe beat all the past ones. I was out of white sugar so I used brown sugar and it made a caramelly-type sauce which was so good it was hard to save it for the dumplings. The pastry dough was very easy to work with and turned out flaky and light. I used small, green apples as they are alot easier than using the big ones. Excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Mak Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Great tasting dessert despite the fact that my presentation was pretty poor. You want to make sure you can do this recipe from start to finish interruption free. Between the phone ringing, neighbors dropping in, and children running around I threw the apples together in a hurry and didn't pinch the dough enough around the top. Another thing, make sure you use an apple corer for this. I though I could just cut the apple in half and scoop out the core. NO GOOD! 2 of my apples drifted apart in the pan and fell over making a soggy crust as the result. Also, I only made a 1/2 recipe and though I would just use a 9X9 pan. Too much juice accumulated at the bottom making the crust a bit soggy. Overall, the taste is great. Kinda like your own personal apple pie. Of course serve with vanilla ice cream. I will try this again because it did taste very good even though it looked pretty bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAVYWIFE34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I thirded this recipe so my calculations may have been off somewhere, but nonetheless, these apple dumplings were SO good. I "rounded" each measurement of cinnamon and nutmeg, just as a taste preference for more spice and didn't use the food coloring (the spices were enough natural color for me). I made 3x3" pastry squares and wrapped it along the bottom of about 1/4 an apple (I didn't see how I could completely enclose a whole apple even with a 6x6 inch square) for a more individual serving. It baked in the oven for about another 3-5 minutes for the apples to soften a bit more and to allow the syrup to thicken to an almost slimy, gooey consistency. After taking it out, I poured the surrounding syrup over the dumplings. They're even good cold--the syrup is thickened and the apple taste it more defined. I'm sure they would be great with ice cream, though. Such a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This recipe was great and it tastes delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
This was very close to the one that my grandmother and mother used to make out of the Betty Crocker cookbook, but more complicated. Didn't use the food coloring. Tasty! Very good on a crisp autumn afternoon. The pastry works well for apple pie too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
These were absolutly fantastic! It was my first time making apple dumplings and it was so easy! We ate these hot with the syrup from the pan poured over and whipped cream. Definatly will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
Though I've finally come to the conclusion that I must be the worst dough roller ever, this came out great. Next time, I will double the dough recipe because I needed more to wrap around the apples...again, it was no fault of the recipe, I'm sure. This tasted just like the ones my Mom used to make. I LOVED THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
Yummy....I diced my apples and mixed the spices with them before placing in the dough, more like little turnovers. I also made a brown sugar/vanilla sauce using 1 c water, 1 c brown sugar, 1-2 tsps vanilla, and 3 tbsp butter. I simmered the sauce until it boiled down a bit to thicken, and ladled it over the hot dumplings before serving. Top with vanilla ice cream and voila! Note that dumplings are best when eaten straight from oven..they get a bit soggy if stored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe! It tastes professional :) Thank you very much for sharing it! I made the mistake of rolling out the dough on floured aluminum foil which made it difficult to lift up and just gather (i.e. the dough got stuck to the foil). So, using a baking sheet as the directions say is best. Also, I think that the syrup is on the sweet side but it tastes perfect when eaten with the apple and the dough :) I can see vanilla ice cream topping off this dumpling perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
Wow the dough was awesome. Good flavour. They turned out great! I should have added raisons Will Make Again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States