Apple Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
These were very tasty and I will make them again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blaireli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marengo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
i kinda forgot a step when i made these. i didnt do the ingridents under apples, i used the syrup. butit still turned out wonderfully. everyone loved these. i used granny smith apples, bc after buying them my daughter decided not to like them anymore, but she loves them in this! i will definitly make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
My dad loved it. So did I. I was trying to find a receipe like my boy-friend's mom makes and this was the closest I found to it. Except we eat it as a breakfast cereal with milk instead of cream or ice-cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEONFLUX707

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I made this recipe without the syrup and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly, with one exception - I used brown sugar instead of white only on the apples, (kept white sugar for syrup). Next time, I will definitely use smaller apples or make more pastry. I made the pastry very thin, and still didn't have enough to cover all of the apples that I had. The pastries did stay together well though. I didn't have any break open during baking. It seemed like this made a ton of syrup, so I only used half while baking and the rest to spoon over just before eating. A good recipe, but I may try a few others to find the perfect one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
really good can even make your own dough. but the syrup really runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Thanks for sharing this recipe. I had fun making these with my 11 year old step son. He kept telling me how much he loves brown sugar so I told him we could stuff the inside of the apples with rasins, chopped pecans and his favorite(brown sugar). I did a horrible job coring the apples...lol. I need to buy an apple corer. It didn't matter. The dough held the apple together perfectly anyways. There was even left over dough for Christan to play with and we baked it up with sugar and cinnamon sprinkled on top. I used butter flavored crisco. I also omitted the nutmeg just because I am out. These were delicious served with a bit of homeade vanilla ice cream. This kid is never going to want to go home now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Robertson Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Wow! This looks JUST like my little old grandmother's recipe. I haven't made it so this isn't exactly a review, I just wanted to add that we always used to eat these fresh out the oven with extra syrup and cold milk poured over it. The milk gives it that little bit of creaminess without adding extra sweetness that it really doesn't need. Try it, its phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This was a good recipe, I would prefer less nutmeg, i would rather taste the apples more than the spices. Since I wanted to make these for more than six people, I chopped the apples and mixed them with the sugar and spices. Then I spooned them on to the pieces of the dough and folded it over like a pocket. They turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
three thumbs up for these. i stuffed the middles w/ cooked chicken and served them over rice as a not-so-main, main dish and everyone raved over them. i make these quite often. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States