Apple Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Incredible! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Yummmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Excellent recipe…a must keep. You will need to double or triple the pastry dough. I also halved the apples. The syrup was the highlight of the recipe. It is an easy one as well. The dumplings came out beautiful and crisp. With the excess syrup in the pan drizzled on them, they were beautiful and tasty. A nice recipe for dinners. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
These are the best apple dumplings. We tripled the dough and halved our 6 large Granny Smith apples for 12 dumplings and almost ran short on the dough. Also doubled the sauce and used half brown half white sugar. Next time I will try adding chopped nuts and raisins to the apples. Worth all the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
OK, I don't know if I should be rating this recipie because I made so many changes, but here goes. These were very good! I chopped the apples into peices and put the seasonings on them while I made the crust. I used the Best Ever Pie Curst recipe from this site. And I didn't make the sauce to pour over the top (Hubby wanted a more "apple pie" like dessert:-) And although I want to try the sauce for the top next time- very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverview, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cordova, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This is an awesome recipe. I used hybrid gala/granny smith apples that I bought at Sam's Club. They were perfect. Just the right size, texture and flavor. I also keep my shortening in the fridge. This makes for such a nich pastry crust. I wouldn't change a thing in the recipe. I will definately make this a regular winter/holiday treat at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laralou
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Thought this was a really good and tasty recipe. But since it is 800+ calories per serving I made some changes. I omitted the TB pat on the dumplings and only used 1/8th of the syrup. Hopefully that will decrease some fat/calories! I had plenty of pastry dough for 6 dumplings. Turned out tasty and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bernardsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I had leftover pastry dough so I decided to make this, my company really enjoyed it. Wasn't fussy on the syrup, would like more of a caramel sauce. Would definitely make the dumplings again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Emily
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Amazing recipe! Amounts of ingredients need to be adjusted a little bit. We only put half of an apple in each dumpling instead of a whole apple, we also needed more dough there was not enough for 6 dumplings in the recipe. Also the dumplings were definitely not as pretty as in the picture the dough was very bumpy and was not at all neat. However, it was a crowd pleasing recipe and everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Needham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This is the BEST apple dumpling recipe! I've made them 3 times this season. I live on an apple orchard and I've tried them all. My only recommendation is to use Northern Spy apples and double the recipe. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States