Apple Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
These were delicious and turned out great. The only time-consuming part is peeling and coring the apples. But it was well worth it. My husband was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
My kids are woofing these down, my son, who won't touch apple pie loves these. This was so much easier than I thought it would be. The crust is exceptionally easy to work with. Took others suggestions and cut apples in half, and increased the crust by 1/2- ended up with 11 halves covered. Used all brown sugar,as suggested by another reviewer, and increased apple sugar/cinnamon, rolled the apple in mixture then put a tablespoon of brown sugar-cinnamon in apple cavity,put about a 1/2 tsp of butter on top of that(1/2 tbs seemed like it would be way too much) put flat side down on square and folded up, put flat side down on baking sheet. Only used half of the syrup, which I poured only on the bottom as per another reviewers suggsetion. Came out nice and crispy, not soggy as one would suspect after pouring the syrup on the bottom. We'll definately have these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lebanon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
somrthing went wrong with the dough so i had a pie dough already made so i used that, but i'm going to make it again and see how it comes out..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I am a culinary student and used this recipe for a project. What a hit! My chef instructor and classmates loved it! I made a second batch of the syrup, added a little heavy cream and made it into a caramel sauce. Thanks! This will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I made this w/Granny Smith apples. I followed several people's advice and quartered the apples - - this made them manageable and the servings were more realistic. Plus, there was more crust to apple, and let's face it, that's where it's at! The crust is very light and delicate - - different from your average "pie crust", and I would definitely find many more ways to use it. Oh, and the syrup was heavenly. I skipped the food coloring, and I think it was that much more appealing. Bon Apetit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is a 5 if you either double the pastry or halve the apples. I cut 6x6 squares as the recipe said and a whole apple just wouldn't fit!! so I used half an apple in each square. It was perfect! In future I will use half an apple because the apple to pastry ratio was perfect when cooked. This is delicious! The syrup is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
These dumplings are very good and easy to make...the pastry is very tasty,flaky and light. I put 1 egg yoke and about 3 Tablespoons milk mixed and brushed over the top before dusting with cinnamon sugar mixture on top of dumplings and poured the sauce just into the bottom of the pan before baking. I did as others suggested and cut Large green apples from my orchard into quarters used less and kept the dough recipe the same...made about seven nice servings. This recipes a keeper! Thank you Beverly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Love it, Love it, Love it!!!! I've used this recipe many times and have even made it for the in-laws 2 Christmas' ago... big hit, although some of the old timers thought it was too sweet. Very filling. I usually make extra apples and freeze them for later use, that way all i have to do is make the syrup and bake em. The hubby LOVES em!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desi23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
I definitely recommend serving these warm out of the oven with ice cream for a nice contrast. I planned on making these with an entire apple and leaving it whole.. but as I was making it I decided that it would be much better to slice the apple up a bit and use a little bit less. It just would've been too much. Also, I didnt think the syrup was quite thick enough..nor do I think the food coloring is necessary. just use brown sugar instead of white, it will give it better flavor anyway. I wanted to add raisins and chopped walnuts to the dumpling but I forgot, so I just sprinkled it over before I served it. Came out great and everyone loved it, I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahS
Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This recipe was awsome.We loved the syrup over top of them.I followed the recipe exact and turned out perfect.Will be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States