Apple Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
pretty good. pastry was really easy to work with, but next time i would make a little extra ... had to roll a little to thin to go over 6 really small green apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Thanks for this one! Despite the pastry being a tad delicate to work with (I'll use my mom's pie crust recipe next time), it was just like what I had in Pennsylvania Dutch country years ago. Been searching for something close ever since. Keeping this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKblumchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I used puff pastry after trying this recipe. The dough/crust wasn't what i wanted. I love the flakiness of a apple dumpling and didn't find it here. The sauce and spices were fine, everyone tweeks it to their own liking. All in all, puff pastry did the job for flakiness, the other sections of the recipe was a guideline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woollysheep

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
My grandma used to make dumplings with a pie crust type pastry, and that's what the taste i was looking for. This recipe is more like a biscuit texture, and although it was still good in flavor, it wasn't what I wanted. I quartered my apples, to make better serving sizes, and would roll them in the cinnamon-sugar mix. I would cook them at a higher temp for a shorter amount of time next time. I also felt like the syrup needed to be doubled if you want some to serve over the ice cream. I was worried the syrup was going to be runny like others had said, but it thickened up plenty after baking. I enjoyed this, but will keep looking for a more pie-like crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
A standard recipe....nothing special....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
The pastry was much more biscuit-y than I expected, but it tasted oh so good--especially with the syrup baked over it. Not having apples, I used 3 peaches--cut in half, peeled, and sliced--then fanned out in a pretty way inside the dumpling. Son's allergic to milk so we use a vegan-friendly "butter" spread and soy milk. Also, I only used half of the syrup when I poured it over the dumplings before baking so I'll probably only make half as much syrup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I have made this a few times, and I don't know if I will again. I cannot get the crust rolled out large enough to both hold together and wrap over the apples. Even when I use portions instead of whole apples, I have had trouble. Also, it is wayyy too much syrup. And if you pour it all in the pan, bake, and let cool, it will turn into a rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This recipe is absolutely delicious! I made it exactly how the recipe stated and it tured out divine. I served it with a little bit of vanilla ice cream. The sauce was slightly thin, even though good. For those who like the sauce thicker, cut the sauce recipein half. Everything turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Bruce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I reallly liked this recipe. I made some minimal changes. I used puff pasty (it was yummy!). I sliced the apples rather than using a whole one. Iused more brown sugar, and less white. I also put the cinnamon, sugar, etc., into a baggie and coated the apples before baking. They were delicious and so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These were okay. Followed the recipe almost exactly. We cut the apples into pieces but there were still way too many (probably only need 4 apples). I can't imagine the quantity of dough would have covered an entired apple. Maybe half of an apple. Also it seemed like there was too much cinnamon. The syrup was a nice touch, but the dough was only okay. I'll keep the syrup part of the recipe but totally revamp the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States