Apple Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
These were ah-mazing!!! I followed other reviewers suggestions and used half brown sugar ans only a few tablespoons of water for the sauce. Cubed up the apple and mixed it with sugar and cinnamon (really a must for any baked apple recipe). BAKED seam down for 20 minutes then flipped, after another 10 minutes added the sauce and then cooked for the last 10 minutes. Also, I used the phillsberry apple turnover dough and because they are cut as squares and I tried to reshape them, they got incredibly thin. This was the best serendipitous event: as they tore at the bottom of the pan the glaze hardened over them. Once they were cooked you got a nice semi-transparent sauce with little sneak peak of the apple chunks. Everyone raved about them and said they loved the taste of the dough. All in all, a great recipe with some minor mods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie C.
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I made a sugar free version using 1/4 cup Splenda white sugar and 1/4 cup Splenda brown sugar. We used the apple corer that splits the apple into 5 sections, we then cut those sections in half to make the slices narrower. I sprinkled the inside of the biscuits with cinnamon before closing them up. We had some slices left over, so I lined them up around the edges. Unfortunately, I didn't read the reviews before pouring the liquid over the top, so our biscuits were a little soggy on the bottom. It apparently didn't bother my son because he ate three. I served them with the No Sugar Added Breyer's Ice Cream - Salted Caramel Swirl. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Hard to believe how quickly this came together not counting the slicing of the apples. Used half brown sugar and half white sugar. 1/4 cup water. baked for 10 mins without the sauce sprinkled. Also had some lime cookies which I crushed and sprinkled over the top after pouring on the sauce. Total baking time 40 mins at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Tasted so much like my Granny's tasted. However, I sliced the apples into smaller parts (I inch cubes) than the recipe called for. Also, since the mixture of butter, water, and spices didn't cover the dumplings, I poured in enough water to do so. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I've always wanted to try apple dumplings and so glad I finally did! This recipe is, OH SO DELICIOUS! Your taste buds will thank you! I used Apple Crisps instead of Granny Smith and I added brown sugar, as well as, white sugar. Thank you, Carol, for sharing this family gem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Simple and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senegal2c

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Not so sure what everybody is doing wrong, but this is a good recipe with the right measurements. I did however boil the sugar and water to reduce by half, then add the butter and vanilla. The sauce came out thick and caramelly. Maybe that is the trick. I have made this several times and it does not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
CHRYSALIS34...thank YOU for putting your spin on this recipe! Let me put it this way...my husband just came in to get another one! lol The only thing I changed was half brown suger, half Splenda but that's it! They turned out great, thanks to you & Carol for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Carpan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
These were a huge hit in my house! Better than any old apple pie! So easy to make, yet a dessert to be proud to serve! I did double the sauce and I diced the apples to put in the dough....my left over diced apples I mixed in with the caramel sauce and poured over the dumplings and baked. Mixed the apples with cinnamon and sugar. VERY good!!! LOVE THIS and will be making it again next weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This came out great for us! After perusing the comments, here are the changes I made: I diced the apples and tossed them with cinnamon sugar, halved the water, used half light brown sugar and half white, and saved half of the sugar mixture and added halfway through cooking. I also cut up too many apples, so I mixed them in with the sugar mixture (all of the apples got scooped in at the beginning, only sugar mixture went in halfway through). I used Grands flaky biscuits, and they came out soft inside and on the bottom with a nice sugary crust on top. I served with vanilla ice cream, and they were delicious! The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is that I made so many changes that I'm not even sure what the original recipe would taste like. It was a great basic starting place, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States