Apple Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
OMG, this is one of the best dessert recipes I have ever tried! Thankfully, I read each and every review before trying them. Please, people, do make the recommended adjustments and I promise you will not be disappointed! I diced the apples and coated them with cinnamon/sugar. I baked the dumplings on one side for 20 minutes. Then I turned them and baked for another 10 minutes before adding the sauce. I made up the sauce minus the water and had to add just a tablespoon or so to get it the right consistency. I also used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar and ended up with this beautiful caramel sauce. I added the sauce the last 10 minutes of cooking and served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I had people begging me for the recipe and I have made it twice this week. My husband has requested that this be THE dessert for Thanksgiving dinner and I will be only to happy to oblige. Folks, it really is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This dessert is a good idea in theory, but unfortunately, this particular recipe isn't so great. If you want this recipe to work, please be sure to read these reviews and consider the other reviewers' advice! 1) Dice or cut your apples into slices, 2) Add cinnamon/sugar to the cut apples (so it'll taste like a dessert, and not just an apple wrapped in a biscuit), 3) Use a smaller amount of liquid, or add the liquid in small amounts throughout the cooking time (don't dump it in all at once or you'll get a soggy mess!), and 4) Cook each dumpling for a few minutes on one (or both) sides before adding liquid to keep the sogginess to a minimum. If you follow those suggestions, you'll have better luck than if you use the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This is just too good to be true. It was easy to prepare. I did follow the advice of the others by using only a little water and by cutting my apples into quarters. I used gala apples. I also sprinkled the apples with a little cinnamon and sugar before wrapping them with the croissant dough. And I baked for about 5 minutes before adding the liquid mixture and I used half brown sugar half white sugar. These were sooooooooooooooooooooooo good. You must eat it with vanilla ice cream. I am going to make another batch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
DELICIOUS! I followed all of the suggestions...diced apples and sprinkled w/cinnamon and sugar, reduce the water in the sauce (I mixed everything else together and then added water gradually until I had the consistance I wanted), cooked for 10 minutes before adding the sauce. I made two dumplings (used 1 diced apple) with the "grand" crescent rolls. I only baked for 27 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This recipe has wonderful flavor. Easy to prepare. I,too, decreased the water to 1/2 c. and used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar and used Grands Flaky Biscuits. Next time -I will dice apples and turn the dumplings over during baking to get the underside brown and more done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
This recipe is wonderful!! I took it to a women's meeting at the church and it got rave reviews. I used Pillsbury cinnamon and sugar flakey bisquits (eliminates the need to season apples before wrapping)and baked the apples 10 min before pouring on the sauce. I also eliminated the water as suggested by other reviews, and added 1/2 cup pecans to the sauce (note: the pecans taste wonderful with this, but add considerable work to washing the dish... it was worth it!) Thanks Carol, for a wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
These tasted like apple pie! I diced up the apples rather than halfed them and sprinkled cinnamon, sugar, and a little nutmeg on before I wrapped them. I also only used 1/4 cup water and that was more than enough. This was delicious! Definately worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
The 1st recipe I tried from this site. Following other's suggestions, I reduced water/sugar/butter, sliced apples, and sprinkled them with cinnamon prior to sealing. I also let it bake ten minutes before adding the sauce, turning each dumpling beforehand. I daresay they were PERFECT! Fast, easy, and oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
The first time I made this recipe I cut the butter in half, and it still turned out great. The second time, I eliminated it altogether with great results. Quick, nummy and fun for the kids to help with preparing! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This recipe was very good with vanilla ice cream. i cut the amount of butter in half and it worked just as well. i also used cinnamon roll biscuit dough instead of regular and it added to the cinnamon flavor. the only bad thing was that i covered the dish with a top when it was done and it ended up getting a little soggy. but it was still good with the ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States