Apple Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I made this over the weekend for my family and absolutely loved it!!! This was a very simple desert to make and it came out delicous! I also accompanied it with Apple Pie ice cream.....as it is in season right now. Yum!! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
These were superb!!!!!!. I did take some suggestions from others but overall an excellent recipe. The sauce was delicious. My entire family including my neighbors loved it. I have a ton of apples left from apple picking, so I intend to make this again and again this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Sinai, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I used flaky honey butter biscuits and rolled out as large as possible.(5").Added sugar and cinnamon to diced apples and put as much as possible (about 1/4 c./biscuit)on each biscuit. Because I put too many apples, I could not fold them up so I put another rolled out biscuit on top and sealed edges. Then baked 20 minutes, turned, baked 10 minutes then added butter,sugar sauce. Bake 10 more minutes. I reduced the water in butter sauce to about 1 T. as other reviewers suggested. These were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I should have read more reviews before I made these. Although they were very good, the bottoms were soggy (which is why I gave it 4 stars). Next time, I will flip them half way through baking or wait to add the sauce until part way through baking. The sauce was a bit too sweet. Next time, I will use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Goodbye Bruster's. These are mmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I think this is a great recipe as is,made with the instructions and ingredients given, and really don't understand how others rate a recipe that they have completely changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISSIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This recipe is wonderful! I've served this at numerous potlucks and it's always a hit. And it's also become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
So. Yeah. These rule. I diced the apples, sprinkled them with brown sugar and cinnamon, and filled the dough "pockets" to the brim. I basted each pastry with butter, cooked for 20 minutes then flipped and basted again. I started the syrup on the stove, using 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar. I did not reduce the water. After allowing that to just simmer for about 15 minutes, I poured it over the pastries with about 10 minutes left. Just long enough to soak in. Served with vanilla ice cream, and pouring the remaining syrup over the whole lot - hol-eeee cow. SO yummy. Addendum to my original review: I made another batch of smaller dumplings - just halved the biscuits, put a heaping teaspoon of the apples inside, and did everything else the same way, including the 40 minutes. Delish, and they're awesome for the luncheon I have tomorrow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
These were good. I thought I would save time by using apple pie filling, but it was so slippery that the apple slices slid out the edges of the folds. I has so much trouble folding them in half that I ended up just topping the biscuits with the apples. Not exactly the recipe but good none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
These are the best. My family is always asking for them and they can smell them in the oven when they walk in and get all excited. Very easy and so so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ozawkie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States