Apple Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
How wonderful this recipe is! I used canned apples instead just to cut the time and I used less than 1/4 cup of water per other reccomendations. I believe next time I will use less butter, but still they came out fantastic... Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Delicious! I wouldn't recommend doing halves, definitely needs to be smaller slices. I, too, dip the slices in cinnamon/sugar before wrapping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I liked this recipe better than another apple dumpling recipe I'd tried. However, the sauce was too rich. Maybe I'll cut down on the butter next time. I cut down the sugar to 3/4 cup and I doubled the cinnamon, and I'm glad I did! Also, the crust was terrific, but the apples inside were still hard. I think next time, I'll poke them with a fork and see if they get more tender that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
These were so easy & delicious! I love to bake from scratch, but as a single, working mother of 4 teenagers, it's not always possible. These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
these are sooo good! we loved them! we made smaller ones instead of using a 1/2 an apple i cut the apples smaller :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpeafairy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I loved this recipe, however, it's important to take al the reviews and suggestions into consideration. I read the reviews, and I sliced the apples and sprinkled them with cinnamon and sugar. I also baked them without the sauce (20 minutes on one side, 10 on the other). I actually didn't even bake them in the sauce, I just drizzled it over the dumplings and ice cream when they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
As previously mentioned, this recipe is perfect! I impressed the pickiest of eaters - yay! :) I made a few modifications based on previous reviews and they worked amazingly. They were: I used crescent dough; 1/2 cup each of white and brown sugar; and I put cinnamon over the sliced apples before wrapping. 5 stars for ease in preparation and 5 stars in taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Awesomely delicious! I read a page of reviews before I tried making this and agreed with most folks that 2 medium apples is plenty. I also tried the 1/2 c sugar and 1/2 c (dark) brown sugar combination and it tasted heavenly. I stirred and watched the mixture to see if it would need water- I didn't think so, but I put about 2 TB in, just in case. Not sure if water is necessary at all because the butter makes the mixture runny enough to pour. I really appreciated this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
These are the best thing ever!! I did make a few changes though. As other reviewers suggested I chopped my apples and added sugar, cinamon, and a tad of flour to them. When making the vanilla sauce I used half brown sugar and have white sugar as others suggested and then just added water till I got the consistancy I wanted. I only poured half of the mixture over the dumplings after I had cooked them 10 min and turned them over. The other half I cooked on the stove untill it became a thick rich carmel sauce. I served them warm with ice cream and the extra carmel sauce and they were delicious!! I think I could eat the whole pan myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
My family eats these dumplings until they're gone. I usually don't even get any before they're gone. As soon as Fall starts this is one of the first comfort goods I make. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stukndelco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Linwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States