Apple Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
these are sooo good! we loved them! we made smaller ones instead of using a 1/2 an apple i cut the apples smaller :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpeafairy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I loved this recipe, however, it's important to take al the reviews and suggestions into consideration. I read the reviews, and I sliced the apples and sprinkled them with cinnamon and sugar. I also baked them without the sauce (20 minutes on one side, 10 on the other). I actually didn't even bake them in the sauce, I just drizzled it over the dumplings and ice cream when they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
As previously mentioned, this recipe is perfect! I impressed the pickiest of eaters - yay! :) I made a few modifications based on previous reviews and they worked amazingly. They were: I used crescent dough; 1/2 cup each of white and brown sugar; and I put cinnamon over the sliced apples before wrapping. 5 stars for ease in preparation and 5 stars in taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Awesomely delicious! I read a page of reviews before I tried making this and agreed with most folks that 2 medium apples is plenty. I also tried the 1/2 c sugar and 1/2 c (dark) brown sugar combination and it tasted heavenly. I stirred and watched the mixture to see if it would need water- I didn't think so, but I put about 2 TB in, just in case. Not sure if water is necessary at all because the butter makes the mixture runny enough to pour. I really appreciated this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
These are the best thing ever!! I did make a few changes though. As other reviewers suggested I chopped my apples and added sugar, cinamon, and a tad of flour to them. When making the vanilla sauce I used half brown sugar and have white sugar as others suggested and then just added water till I got the consistancy I wanted. I only poured half of the mixture over the dumplings after I had cooked them 10 min and turned them over. The other half I cooked on the stove untill it became a thick rich carmel sauce. I served them warm with ice cream and the extra carmel sauce and they were delicious!! I think I could eat the whole pan myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
My family eats these dumplings until they're gone. I usually don't even get any before they're gone. As soon as Fall starts this is one of the first comfort goods I make. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stukndelco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Linwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
My family loves these! They don't last long & are always requested around the holidays. Easy to make and taste wonderful! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Awesome recipe! I used a half cup of brown sugar and a half cup of white sugar. I also cut the apples into smaller pieces and coated them in sugar and cinnamon before putting them in the dough. I didn't add the sauce about 5 minutes before they were supposed to come out of the oven. I also rotated the dumplings after 20 minutes and again after 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill and Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Easy, cheap, and DELISH. Followed the recipe almost exactly except for mixing in the cinammon with the melted butter instead of sprinkling on top. I only needed 2 Granny Smiths to make the recipe, and I used generic jumbo butter biscuits from the grocery store. No need to make it any more complicated. A favorite at home and with pals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
These are great! Very tasty. I couldn't stop eating them. The only thing I differently was I put some brown sugar on top of them before baking and used less white sugar. My mom just came back from Apple Hill (CA) and talked about an apple pie with brown sugar in the filling. This came out so good! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States