Apple Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I've been making these for years. Everyone loves them. Only difference is that I pour the "sauce" around the dumplings and not over them. I also, sprinkle the tops of the dumplings with a cinnamon sugar mixture like you would sprinkle on cinnamon toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Delicious!!! I made this last night and everybody loved it, looks like this will be a weekly dessert for us. Thank you for the quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ylz1230

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This recipe is perfect...sweet & delicious. It you Yankees like your dumplings dry & crisp, then add less water, but 'us' Southerners like our dumplings moist and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very delicious! I made a few changes though. I only needed 2 1/2-3 apples. I cut them into smaller pieces (instead of big slices). I then mixed them with cinnamon & sugar and let them soak in the fridge for about an hour. I also used a little less butter and about 3/4 cups of sugar. Very yummy with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacia2242

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
We loved these! I read the reviews and decided to chop the apples and reduced the sugar as well as use brown sugar,too. Also cooked them separately from the sauce and added it to them after baking. Absolutely delicious-will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
My aunt always used to make this for family gatherings, and it is a favorite recipe. The only change I make is to half the amount of sugar and add a ton of cinnamon. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Just made these thi evening and ate warm with french vanilla ice-cream. I was worried because when I went to put it together, I realised I had less than a tsp of vanilla. I added a splash of grand marnier to the sauce and they were amazing. Others I made, I found way too sweet,t his one is just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Wow! I can't imagine a dessert any better. I followed the other users and used 1/2 cup water, 1/2 white 1/2 brown sugar, and half the butter. Sliced apples, sprinkled with cinnamon sugar, and wrapped. Placed on cooking sheet, baked for 15 mins one side, turned and baked 15 mins, then covered with sauce. Bake until done, awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made these last night and served them with a scoop of butter pecan ice cream. Macoun apples worked beautifully in this recipe, and I followed suite by chopping the apples and tossing them lightly with cinnamon and sugar. I didn't use as much butter as asked and I still though the recipe came out incredibly. An excellent dessert for those who want something homemade, but don't have the time to whip up the dough. I would've given it 10 stars if I had the option!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebring

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rahway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jackson Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Really good when you make it according to the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States