Apple Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I've made these many times over the past few years and have never been disappointed! I follow the recipe exactly & the dumplings are delicious yet so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
My mom definitely has a sweet tooth and she just went crazy for these. I made the changes suggested and cut the water down to just a few tablespoons. I find that cutting the apples before stuffing the biscuit dough is really helpful, and a little allspice never hurt anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
These taste great, especially for the little amount of effort they take. I dipped the apples in the sauce before rolling them in the dough, plus poured it over top afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I had a difficult time getting the dough to wrap around the apples without tearing it. But my husband asked me to keep trying and make it again. I made the sauce a little differently too, but I think the results were the same. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Absolutely delicious!!! Warning: you need a sweet tooth for this one! I followed the advice of other reviewers and seasoned the apples with white and brown sugar and cinnamon before stuffing them in the biscuits... I'm not sure this was necessary! The sauce is amazingly sweet and buttery. I used half white and half brown sugar and only 1/2 cup water. I poured the sauce over the biscuits only during the last 10 minutes of cooking. I will definitely make this again for my parents who love apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This is AWSOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by val

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
These were ok. A little less flavor than I would have liked and I did preseason the apple slices with brown sugar and cinnamon, used maybe 2 TBSP water. I baked for 15 minutes without sauce, flipped for 10 more, then added sauce for last 10 minutes cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rach747

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Excellent dessert with a few modifications. Use tart apples and be sure to peel them. Slice them using an apple slicer and toss the pieces with 2 tsp brown sugar, 2 tsp white sugar and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Stretch that dough out and pack 4 apple slices into each round (this will keep the dessert from being too "doughy" as other reviewers have said). When you mix the sauce, use 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white suagr and add the water gradually to get a nice consistency; i used 2/3 cups but could have gotten away with only 1/2, easy. Don't pour this over the apples right away. Bake them for 15 minutes then flip them over and bake them for 10 more. Now pour the sauce over and bake for another 10-15. Serve it up with some cool whip and watch them disappear! SO GOOD :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
simple yet delightful. a real keeper and a handy recipe to keep around for unexpected company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This is so..... good, my husband and i really love it, thanks.i came from other country so i never tried apple dumpling before. And one day my mother in law told me that her husband like apple dumpling and i was curious of what is that. So i searched on-line for apple dumpling and found this recipe. I tried to make it and i shared to my father in law and he really love it. I already made 3 times last week. I will be making again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Germansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States