Apple Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I didn't make the original recipe as it was written, but with the changes I made this is most DEFINITELY a FIVE STAR recipe! WOW!!!!!!!! I used green apples because they are a little more tart than the red ones, and with all the sweetness going on in this recipe, I am glad I went with the green. I chopped them up into small pieces. Then I sprinkled some cinnamon sugar into the apples before folding them into the dough. I baked them for ten minutes, then flipped and baked an add'l ten mins. Meanwhile, I left out all of the water, used 1/2 c brown sugar and 1/2 c white instead of the entire cup of white. Then, I flipped the dumplings back over, and poured the mixture over the dumplings for a final ten minute bake (so that was 30 mins in total).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Attitash, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This recipe was so good.I have made it more than once and never disappointed. It's apple season here and let me tell you I have tried alot of apples but the best are the granny smith they help with all the sugar. I also fellowed some changes to this recipe . I did 1/2 white and 1/2 brown suger ,cut apples,I sugared the apples, used grand biscuits, and turned them after 15 mins. If they don't turn out the first time don't be afraid to try it again. These are super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This is good for a quick version of apple dumplings but it isn't the same as the more labor intensive version my grandma used to make. Still very lip smacking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hampstead, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
The kids loved helping with this one. They LOVED it! I thought the bottoms ended up a little too doughy, but I probably could have baked them a few minutes longer. It was a quick and easy dessert that I know we'll make again and again. I added cinnamon to the apples before wrapping them too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I've made these many times over the past few years and have never been disappointed! I follow the recipe exactly & the dumplings are delicious yet so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
My mom definitely has a sweet tooth and she just went crazy for these. I made the changes suggested and cut the water down to just a few tablespoons. I find that cutting the apples before stuffing the biscuit dough is really helpful, and a little allspice never hurt anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
These taste great, especially for the little amount of effort they take. I dipped the apples in the sauce before rolling them in the dough, plus poured it over top afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I had a difficult time getting the dough to wrap around the apples without tearing it. But my husband asked me to keep trying and make it again. I made the sauce a little differently too, but I think the results were the same. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Absolutely delicious!!! Warning: you need a sweet tooth for this one! I followed the advice of other reviewers and seasoned the apples with white and brown sugar and cinnamon before stuffing them in the biscuits... I'm not sure this was necessary! The sauce is amazingly sweet and buttery. I used half white and half brown sugar and only 1/2 cup water. I poured the sauce over the biscuits only during the last 10 minutes of cooking. I will definitely make this again for my parents who love apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This is AWSOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by val

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States