Apple Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and I think it came out perfect as is. I don't see the need to change it up at all. I didn't dice the apples as some suggested but just halved them as the recipe says and my apples came out nice and soft and perfectly ccoked. The dough outside came out nice and brown on the outside and fluffy in the middle. This was so quick and easy to make and everyone loved them. I will for sure make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyInBliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This is easy and wondeful! I put a spoonful of brown sugar in the cored apple before wrapping it with the biscuit.. and it is wonderful!!! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Lavaca, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Four apples is way too much, one or two apples would have been fine. These turned out a bit too doughy and came apart. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I made this with crescents (instead of biscuits) and fresh peaches (instead of apples). Just diced them up and tossed in cinnamon and regular/brown sugar. Top with the sauce and they will not be mushy. Serve with Bluebell Vanilla Ice Cream. In the words of the infamous Rachael Ray...YUM-O!!! People could not get enough of this; so now I make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I dont eat apples, but my husband and son really loves anything with apples. So I made this for them. Well, they truly loved it...they raved about it and have since asked me to make it several times. I did follow the suggestions of others and diced the apples then dipped them in a sugar, cinnamon mixture then wrapped them in dough the with a pat of butter. I also used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar and I heat the sauce over medium heat until bubbly (but do not boil)..Hubby said its the best apple dumpling he has ever had. Thank you for the recipe and suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porus, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Good, pretty sweet. I diced apples as others suggested, actually made it harder to wrap in the biscuit than the 1/2 apple that I wrapped. Make sure that the dough is cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbruins79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
holy ! this is by far the best non-chocolate dessert i've ever had. it's definitely the best dessert i've ever made. i followed the other suggestions and i also made my own pastry crust. the sauce turned into pure carmel. i cooked it on the stove separate and added it the last 10 minutes of baking. like the other reviewers i diced the apples, cooked the sauce separate with brown & white sugar and reduced the water. to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Great recipe! I've made these several times to rave reviews. However, I do recommend reading the reviews and making a few moderations. I had extra filling, but kept it aside to pour over the dumplings in the final baking stage-delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
These are very very good. Even my husband, who is very skimpy with the compliments, loved this. He even suggested I make it for his parents who are visiting this coming weekend! Wow! I did quarter the apples and used smaller bisquits. These are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
The sauce is what makes these so special. I sprinkled the chopped apples with cinnamon and nutmeg but not sugar. The apples I had were sweet enough. Follow the reviewer's suggestions for baking and they won't turn out doughy. I also rolled my biscuit with a glass to make them big and thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States