Apple Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jackie C.
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I made a sugar free version using 1/4 cup Splenda white sugar and 1/4 cup Splenda brown sugar. We used the apple corer that splits the apple into 5 sections, we then cut those sections in half to make the slices narrower. I sprinkled the inside of the biscuits with cinnamon before closing them up. We had some slices left over, so I lined them up around the edges. Unfortunately, I didn't read the reviews before pouring the liquid over the top, so our biscuits were a little soggy on the bottom. It apparently didn't bother my son because he ate three. I served them with the No Sugar Added Breyer's Ice Cream - Salted Caramel Swirl. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Hard to believe how quickly this came together not counting the slicing of the apples. Used half brown sugar and half white sugar. 1/4 cup water. baked for 10 mins without the sauce sprinkled. Also had some lime cookies which I crushed and sprinkled over the top after pouring on the sauce. Total baking time 40 mins at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Tasted so much like my Granny's tasted. However, I sliced the apples into smaller parts (I inch cubes) than the recipe called for. Also, since the mixture of butter, water, and spices didn't cover the dumplings, I poured in enough water to do so. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I've always wanted to try apple dumplings and so glad I finally did! This recipe is, OH SO DELICIOUS! Your taste buds will thank you! I used Apple Crisps instead of Granny Smith and I added brown sugar, as well as, white sugar. Thank you, Carol, for sharing this family gem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Phillips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Simple and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Not so sure what everybody is doing wrong, but this is a good recipe with the right measurements. I did however boil the sugar and water to reduce by half, then add the butter and vanilla. The sauce came out thick and caramelly. Maybe that is the trick. I have made this several times and it does not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
CHRYSALIS34...thank YOU for putting your spin on this recipe! Let me put it this way...my husband just came in to get another one! lol The only thing I changed was half brown suger, half Splenda but that's it! They turned out great, thanks to you & Carol for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
These were a huge hit in my house! Better than any old apple pie! So easy to make, yet a dessert to be proud to serve! I did double the sauce and I diced the apples to put in the dough....my left over diced apples I mixed in with the caramel sauce and poured over the dumplings and baked. Mixed the apples with cinnamon and sugar. VERY good!!! LOVE THIS and will be making it again next weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This came out great for us! After perusing the comments, here are the changes I made: I diced the apples and tossed them with cinnamon sugar, halved the water, used half light brown sugar and half white, and saved half of the sugar mixture and added halfway through cooking. I also cut up too many apples, so I mixed them in with the sugar mixture (all of the apples got scooped in at the beginning, only sugar mixture went in halfway through). I used Grands flaky biscuits, and they came out soft inside and on the bottom with a nice sugary crust on top. I served with vanilla ice cream, and they were delicious! The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is that I made so many changes that I'm not even sure what the original recipe would taste like. It was a great basic starting place, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I had never made apple dumplings before but this looked easy,simple, and good to make so I tried it out and omg. I'm in love! Deff. Going to make these for thanksgiving dessert for the family! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States