Apple Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Simple and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Not so sure what everybody is doing wrong, but this is a good recipe with the right measurements. I did however boil the sugar and water to reduce by half, then add the butter and vanilla. The sauce came out thick and caramelly. Maybe that is the trick. I have made this several times and it does not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
CHRYSALIS34...thank YOU for putting your spin on this recipe! Let me put it this way...my husband just came in to get another one! lol The only thing I changed was half brown suger, half Splenda but that's it! They turned out great, thanks to you & Carol for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
These were a huge hit in my house! Better than any old apple pie! So easy to make, yet a dessert to be proud to serve! I did double the sauce and I diced the apples to put in the dough....my left over diced apples I mixed in with the caramel sauce and poured over the dumplings and baked. Mixed the apples with cinnamon and sugar. VERY good!!! LOVE THIS and will be making it again next weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This came out great for us! After perusing the comments, here are the changes I made: I diced the apples and tossed them with cinnamon sugar, halved the water, used half light brown sugar and half white, and saved half of the sugar mixture and added halfway through cooking. I also cut up too many apples, so I mixed them in with the sugar mixture (all of the apples got scooped in at the beginning, only sugar mixture went in halfway through). I used Grands flaky biscuits, and they came out soft inside and on the bottom with a nice sugary crust on top. I served with vanilla ice cream, and they were delicious! The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is that I made so many changes that I'm not even sure what the original recipe would taste like. It was a great basic starting place, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I had never made apple dumplings before but this looked easy,simple, and good to make so I tried it out and omg. I'm in love! Deff. Going to make these for thanksgiving dessert for the family! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I kept all ingredients the same as instructed, except I sliced the apples as thin as I typically do for an apple pie. I read about reducing the water, and I'm glad I didn't! We made these last night and had leftovers for breakfast this morning, and I drizzled the "juices" over all the dumplings before microwaving! It was perfect! Simple and easy, I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jfaherty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Easy and delicious. I'm always asked for the recipe and people think I've spent a lot of time making these, when they're really quick. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
These dumplings rock! Everyone enjoyed them so much more than ones made with a pastry dough. You've got to serve these hot---right out of the oven. I spooned some of that lovely sauce from the bottom of the pan over the tops of the dumplings and served them with vanilla ice cream. Delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Absolutely wonderful recipe! My husband whose favorite dessert is peach or apple cobbler has declared this as its replacement. I have made these almost every weekend since we found this recipe. I too followed the recommendation of other reviewers: reduced water to 1/4 cup, cut apples in wedges before wrapping with dough and covered with cinnamon/sugar mixture. I used 1/2 jazz apples and 1/2 granny smith and found that while the flavor was the same with both the jazz apples maintained their shape better and the granny smith cooked down to almost nothing, but both were fabulous! Also I made 1/2 with crescent dough and 1/2 with ready made crusts and hands down everyone thought the ones with the crescent dough were better. I also added nutmeg before pouring on the sauce. The last time I made them I didn't bother peeling the apples and it didn't seem to make any difference. Do yourself a favor and make this dish...next time will try reducing the butter because I don't think it will affect the flavor that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States