Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jason Howe
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
A++++++ very good keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Howe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Yum! Used half brown sugar half white sugar, 3/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil. I tossed the apples in sugar and cinnamon before placing in the pan. Next time I'll try try adding butter shavings to the apples to soften them up more. I used apples from our tree and they didn't get as soft as I'd like. Hubby said it was like a pie and cake put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I really didn't like this, tastes like flour and spreading the dumpling batter over the apples was nearly impossible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This is a good (and quick) alternative to apple pie. I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and only added 1/2 cup of oil and it came out fine. I also took a 1/2 cup of the sugar and mixed it with the apples with some cinnamon and then added the remaining sugar to the flour as instructed - this created a nice balance of sweetness in both layers. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I made a half recipe of this and put it into an 8"x8" pan. Because I wanted a lot of fruit, I did use 7 medium sized apples. I wanted to avoid the cake being greasy so I substituted 1/2 of the oil with apple butter. We liked this quite a bit and plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was delicious. I followed the recipe dead on, turned out good. Add a scoop of vanilla ice cream or some whipped topping! Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Easy and good!!! I love cinnamon so I sprinkle extra over the apples before I add the batter/dough, then sprinkle it on top of that. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I loved it. Added two tsp vanilla to batter. Next time will grease pan. Yes, it stuck a bit. A dollop of plain yogurt balanced the sweetness, too. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This has an interesting topping but turned out so yummy! I used half sugar and half brown sugar as well and loved the results. Homey comfort food. I love cinnamon apples so I sprinkled a little cinnamon and brown sugar (like a tablespoon)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lime Springs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josh Charlton Cornelius
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
What a nice recipe. This came out fine. I've added honey drizzle over the top after baking and served with whip cream with a pinch of cinnamon on the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh Charlton Cornelius

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States