Apple Dumpling Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Great cake that is super moist and not overly sweet. Made this a few times. Use any type of apples except the bitter ones. No granny smith or such. Fuji apples are my preference but any others will do. Easy and delicious. The top will look bumpy but I serve with a dollop of cinnamon whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jlo
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Mine turned out like an apple crisp but none-the-less it was delicious. I did include other reviewer's suggestions (mixed the apple slices in cinnamon & brown sugar; cut in butter to the flour mixture). Thank you for the very tastey recipe. **** just made this again & this time I added a can of cherry pie filling over the fresh apple slices. It was a hit *again*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
It was good! It was just more cakey than what I thought it would be. Next time maybe I'll use more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Easy and delicious! I made it as I had everything on hand and needed a quick recipe. I used 1/2 cup of applesauce and reduced the oil by 1/2 cup. All the ladies loved it at the party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
very good I used splenda not sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tripoli, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Absolutely delish! Next time I will only cook for 30-35 minutes so the topping will not be as crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
delicious simple home goodness. loved the crusty topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This is a nice dessert and very easy to make but it in no way reminds me of traditional apple dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Wow....I was surprised how wonderful this was! I used fresh apples off the tree, so I have no clue what variety they were, but they worked perfectly. Apples were soft and the topping was superb....would go great with ice cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
WONDERFUL!!! I gave 4 stars because I did adapt it a bit due to reviews. I mixed together a bit of sugar, a bit of flour, and a generous sprinkle of cinnamon then stirred up the apples in it, used a bit less sugar in the cake mix, and mixed a little sugar with the cinnamon for the topping. It reminds me a bit of snickerdoodles on top of apples, hubby says it's sort of like an apple coffee cake. I used apples I got at the farmers market, can't remember what type they are but they're definitely tart & firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States