Apple Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
So rich, so fattening, so good. But you MUST make sure all the cake mix is covered with the melted butter. I use 1/2 cup instead of 1/4. You can also use cherrie pie filling, blueberry, peach and raspberry. They all are delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This was one of those moments the family will be laughing about years from now when they want to tease mom.. "remember that awful dessert that ended up in the trash!?!" After following the directions I ended up with gobs of dry cake mix on top. I figured I could remedy this easy enough by spooning off all the dry stuff. They we tried eating it. The cake mix that had gotten moist was a gooey mess. The overall taste was SOOOOO rich and sweet that it was just awful. Since then I've read the comments and see that adding more butter would have helped with the dry mix on top. But what about the gooey part? Did it need to bake longer? There wasn't any indication as to how well done it should look before removing it from the oven. Even if I baked it longer it would still be way to sweet and rich. This experiment ended up in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
I have made many variations of this recipe, but never with apples...DELICIOUS. At my 6 year old's request, we used Duncan Hines Caramel cake mix, and it was a sensational combination!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I make a recipe that is the same concept as this one except I use 2 large cans of peaches with lite syrup. The syrup from the peaches bubbles through the cake mix therefore mixing with the butter which forms a crust instead of just powder on top. I think if the pie filling had more liquid or juice it would help. I will give it a try next time. Also cinnamon can be sprinkled over the top for extra flavor and I always serve my warm with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
Make the cake mix then you won't need as much [melted butter mixed in the apple pie filling. Add: more cinnamon, fresh grated nutmeg. If you have never used fresh grated nutmeg you certainly must, it is a completely different taste, you use more than store bought ground nutmeg. Spices are old to start with, & should be thrown away after a year. They loose their flavor that fast. Not herbs. From an expert. To a housewife they taste the same for years, not so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
With a little bit of tweaking, this is wonderful! I simply used more butter. Enough to almost completely cover the top of the cake mix. I stirred the mix around a little, to ensure most of the cake powder was covered in butter. I think sprinkled a little water on top to help absorb more of the cake mix. I cooked for about 45 minutes and then served warm. It was very very popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I forgot about this recipe. I used to make this all the time as a teen. (I used 1 can filling & 1/2 cake mix with a stick of butter.) This stuff is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
This is an easy, cheap, delicious dessert. It's perfect for a potluck or have the ingredients on-hand for unexpected dinner guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Oh, my goodness this was good!!! And very easy. Loved it. I called friends at 5 pm on a Sunday evening and by 6:30 we were having hot Apple Dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
This recipe didn't taste very good. I added more butter because it didn't have enough to get all the cake mix covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States