Apple Dapple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This was so good. I didn't have a tube pan so I used a 9x13 inch pan and reduced the cooking time. My husband took the rest to work and it was gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
Really good and moist--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RayColsOh
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I added 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon, 3/4 teaspoons ground cloves and 3/4 teaspoons ground allspice. I also sprinkled additional walnuts on top before baking. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RayColsOh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I used 3 1/2 cups chopped apples which I covered with 1/4 cup sugar and cinnamon and sprinkled 2 tablespoons of lemon juice over it before I mixed it in the batter. I also used a 9 x 13 glass pan to cook it in, took only about 60 min. We really liked this cake...so far 7 out of 7 people liked it!!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Earlier this morning, I made this cake and am most impressed with how delicious it is, not to even mention how moist. It's a wonderful cake which I'd recommend to anyone. Thanks for sharing this with us IreneD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leaflea51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okolona, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Red Bay, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This recipe was awesome. A friend of mine at work who is older than me told me that her mother used to make an Apple Dapple Cake years ago and they are delicious. I actually used about 3 cups of chopped apples and seasoned them with nutmeg, cinnamon and white sugar and let them sit for about 20 mintues. The cake is BANGING (Good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe! My grandmother used to make something like this. I omit the raisins and the nuts and put a confectioner's glaze on top. Good Stuff. I was so happy to find this after searching for four years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Remus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This cake was very good - made exactly as instructed, except used 10" springform pan. It only needed 80 minutes instead of 90. The cake is moist and quite rich - I can only eat a small slice at a time. I think next time I'll omit the coconut and add more apple, just for personal preference. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
The Apple Dapple Cake is a cake my aunt ue to make when I was growing and I miss her so I found this recipe and made it. It was dry and pretty much tasteless and I was sceptical about baking it for 90 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I surprised my husband yesterday by preparing this cake. I am a beginner in terms of baking and I was so scared that it will not turn out as it should be! but it did! He ended up taking the other layer to his work to share with his colleagues as I made 2..Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macrohon, Southern Leyte, Philippines
Living In: Toulouse, Midi-Pyrénées, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States