Apple Danish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
So yummy!!!! I added chopped pecans to the filling and a little nutmeg and cinnamon to the dough and omitted the brown sugar from the dough. I live at high altitude so I also turned my oven up to 400 degrees and didn't need to cover it with foil, but I did check it at 10 minutes to see if I needed to. Definitely worth making again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsz85

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This was really good. I basically followed the recipe with a few minor changes. I used some extra yeast (closer to 2 t.) because my yeast was old, and also because of the old yeast, I extended the rise times. I sprinkled raisins over the apple filling before sealing it up. The browned butter glaze was really good--the browning really did add to the flavor. Just make sure you watch the browning butter carefully so it doesn't burn. If I make this again, I will leave it in another five or 10 minutes longer--I think it's a bit undercooked at 20, and you don't need to add the foil on top. One other change I would make is to reduce the salt, probably to a 1/2 teaspoon. I like salty, but the dough was a little too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Few things need to be add up. First, when preparing the filling, stir constantly because the sugar will burn. Then, it take more then an hour to prepare. They forgot the 15 min after you punch the dough and the 30-40 min after the dough is braided. Plus the time you wait for your oven to reach its temperature even if you do it in advance, we're talking here over 2 hours! Roll the dough bigger then 13x8. Maybe 13x13 as the filling will overflow and it won't stay as a nice braid. Or reduce the quantity of apples to 2 cups instead. Pros: the filling is fantastically good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
My family loved this Danish. The recipe was easy to make, although it was pretty time consuming, there is a lot of down time while you are waiting for the dough to raise throughout the recipe, this wasn't a set back though, I used the down time to do other things. It turned out great and my family absolutely loved it. One little note, I doubled the apple filling in mine only because I had 5 cups of chopped apples I needed to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martann Swope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Great recipe. This is my go-to danish recipe. I innovate with different fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsflyvt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
AWESOME! I've never made a Danish before but omg the flavor is so good. I added raisins but that is the only change I made, and that browned butter glaze is so right for this recipe. I don't think mine came out looking as beautiful as it should have but I will keep trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is the first time I'm inclined to comment on any recipe I've tried and with good reason; this was great! Used rolled oats in the filling instead of flour cause I like to sneak in some healthy stuff for the family. It's almost gone. Loved the dough. Used cinnimon sugar instead of the glaze, will try it next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This was wonderful. It was hard to get it from the counter to the pan, but with my daughter's help we got it on the pan. It was soo yummy! We ate it in one evening. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Good recipe! Filling is EXACTLY like the apple dessert in a tv dinner or like McDonald's apple pie...delicious! Be careful to not knead the dough too much, making it too tough not tender. The glaze is awesome! Barely brown the butter, its perfect! I used vanilla almond milk in place of regular milk, upping the "nutty" flavor even more...wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
loved this recipe , very easy to make and delicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stellarton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States